This Little Piggy

I am NOT smarter than a 3 year old!

There, I said it, it’s out there for all to know. A Master’s Degree and all of my other trainings have not prepared me for the very simple task of wearing underwear correctly. Even my 3 year old knows that the tag goes both in the back and ON THE INSIDE! However, his mother wore her underwear inside out ALL DAY yesterday and managed not to notice until she went to bed. That speaks volumes for my days of late.

We are currently drowning in plastic bins at our house and are counting down the last 6 days of living here. It is causing us all to go a little stir crazy, especially since the weather has warmed up and we live at the beach, but cannot frequent the beach because we are too busy packing and wearing our underwear the wrong way! However, today I found some time to not only write to you, but also to do my Ab Prep exercise, shave my legs, and take a 4.69mile walk around our neighborhood in order give my husband a break from two crazy kids.

During my walk I realized that I REALLY need some new socks. Have you ever been the mom that sacrifices everything that you need to meet the needs of everyone else in your household? Well, I didn’t want to be that mom, but I am that mom. I have not bought new socks since I moved to North Carolina in 2008. Gross huh? I currently wear gym socks that my husband bought and didn’t like and since we’re very close to the same shoe size, I inherited them. Now I have a blister on my last little piggy on the right foot. It is bothering me tremendously this evening.

My poor piggies do so much for me. They keep me balanced as I walk and run and stand and chase my children. They provide me with props for children’s nursery rhymes. They even pick things up for me when I’m too lazy to bend down to get them. Actually, my feet are more like a second set of hands some days and I won’t gross you out with a photo, but I kind of have fists down there when I curl my toes under. So,when was the last time you looked at your toes and thanked them for all that they do? When was the last time you could touch your toes? I mean without bending your knees and cheating?

It always amazes me at how flexible children are and how effortless it is for them to touch their toes; curl up into little balls of giggling human; and how rarely they get hurt from flipping off of things in a contorted position. We were all that way at one point in time, but what changed?

My youngest has inherited my claustrophobic foot disease. While he is nursing he bends his leg up next to his head and pulls his socks off so that his toes are free. What I wouldn’t give to be able to pull of that maneuver whenever I like! So, today when he was baring his piggies, it got me thinking about how I could get back that lost flexibility. Yes, I am a yoga instructor and I have really great flexibility compared to some, but I still don’t reach far past my toes in Seated Forward Fold. I have not achieved my goal of learning to do a full split. I still feel aches and pains from lack of flexibility and somedays desperately want to be Gumby!

So, I’m going to spend a little more time reaching down there and getting friendly with my little piggies each day. Whether you like feet or not, I encourage you to get yours bare, Inhale and reach up to the sky, Exhale and reach down to those toes!

