March Moving Mania

So, we did it; we moved across town two weeks ago today. Yay! However, that also entailed purchasing a house, painting the whole house, clearing out all the left behind junk from the house, cleaning the house, packing up the old house, moving the old house to the new house, unloading and arranging the new house while still making changes to the new house, cleaning the old house, etc all within two weeks time and with a 3 year old and 9 1/2 month old under foot most of the time. Okay, so that was an extremely long sentence and I’m tired just thinking about all we’ve done. By the way, THANK YOU to all of our friends and family that MAJORLY helped out during this time. You guys are AMAZING!

Well, despite everything we’ve been through my husband and I have only mildly wanted to kill each other and I’ve only tried to give my children away/sell them a handful of times. And I am extremely grateful that we are now here and I am typing this from my new office space with children sleeping soundly during the scheduled afternoon nap time. I’m not superwoman by any means, but I’m feeling pretty close to it at this moment……except for the fact that I have some personal work to do now that we’re in this new space.

If you’ve ever moved you’ve probably experienced what I am currently going through. I like to call this the moving weight phase of my year. It’s not holiday weight, it’s not post-baby weight, it’s just moving weight. I have been for exactly ONE walk in my new neighborhood with the kids in the stroller. It was Monday this past week and it was cold, but we went out anyway for 32 beautiful minutes of one foot in front of the other. It was also very lonely as I’m now accustomed to having a walking partner who talks to me about more than the different things they see as we walk and who doesn’t ask me, “But why Mama?” eighteen thousand times in two miles. I love talking to my toddler; really, I do. He has some hilarious things to say. However, I want to let my mind wander when I’m walking. Friends allow me to do that; he forces me to think of new and creative ways to explain things. We’ve not been walking much due to some chillier weather, rainy weather, and an overall lack of sleep on my part. More about that in a moment.

The moving weight is also part due to the fact that for 5 days we were eating pretty much junk. Now, I have successfully refrained from giving my toddler actual fast food and soda for three years, two months, and counting. But, that doesn’t mean that I haven’t eaten it myself, more than I should. Don’t get me wrong, Those places serve a purpose in this world, but I don’t want my little ones full of sodium and extra calories and ingredients I cannot pronounce. I am glad that we are back to eating real food and that, hopefully, that will help me to get back to where I was headed in being healthy and fit. A special THANK YOU to Kristin Porter at Iowa Girl Eats for the recipe that was our family’s first home cooked meal in our first home that we own. It was a wine braised beef shepherd’s pie (see recipe linked above).

In addition to trying to eat better, slowly working on mastering the Ab Prep Pilates exercise (my head still wants to sneak forward from time to time), and my 8 million other daily tasks I’ve given myself, I am currently trying to teach my almost 10 month old how to sleep in his own room for the first time in his life. So far he’s not got the idea for more than 4 hours at a time, but it’s a process, as is most of life, so I will stick with it and see great results in the future. Speaking of sleeping well and babies…..Have you ever tried the Happy Baby pose in Yoga?

This is the pose I will suggest for you all today. It is great for beginners and is very calming. I think we could all use a little calm on a Sunday afternoon.

This stick figure drawing makes me laugh and that makes me happy, so it works. 🙂  If you’ve ever seen a baby playing with their feet, they are practicing Happy Baby pose. It is a great pose for letting go of your stresses and your dignity. Just lay down on the ground, pretend that you’re still six months old without a care in the world. Feel your toes in your fingers and gently rock side to side as you give your back a nice little massage. Trust me, this can be life changing work here. As you do it, let your breath slow and your mind wander. Just enjoy the moment. If you’d like to practice a little meditation (though not a meditative pose) here, try closing your eyes and imagining a smile.

Happy Sunday to you all. May your week ahead be as full of life and happiness as your lungs are filled with air!

