Taking Inventory

When I last left you almost a month ago I was on a roll with writing here. I had my head on straight as to what I wanted to accomplish and how I was going to go about it. Then, I hit a bump in the road and my blog was deleted. It came back quickly (after less than a week), but since that time I have found it difficult to get back here. So, here’s a little of what has been going on since then in regards to my training and some thoughts for you as I return.

So, my goal to hit 1000 miles this year between running and walking has been an ambitious one and started out strong. It was a good jump point for me as I really hit the 25 miles/week mark on the first two weeks in May. After that I found myself enjoying my running even more and finding it easier and easier even with the two kids and the big stroller. My husband was so kind and allowed me some days of running just with the little guy and now, even thought my weekly totals are down in the 17 mi/wk range, I can say that I have been able to complete over a 5K distance with both boys in under 10 min/mi. So yay!

I am finding the weather to be the biggest challenge right now to meeting my goal of mileage. I live at the beach…in the south…and it is hot and humid here from about 6am to 9pm. I’m trying not to turn myself and my children into brown bears this summer by spending too much time in the sun (we do wear sunscreen on our runs). I’m also trying to stay hydrated. I started having headaches one day last week and then realized that I wasn’t downing nearly enough water for all that I was sweating out on these runs. Now, I don’t even own a scale, so I can’t measure how much weight I am losing while running, nor do I want to:

 
I am sure many of you have seen that cartoon before, but it’s still one of my favorites because it captures the insanity that our society places on weight.  I promise to talk more about that on another day and why I don’t keep track of my weight. But, regardless, here are some hydration hints that we should all be heeding as we head into summer as provided by ACE:
  • Drink 17 to 20 ounces of water two hours before the start of exercise.
  • Drink 7 to 10 ounces of fluid every 10 to 20 minutes during exercise.
  • Drink 16 to 24 ounces of fluid for every pound of body weight lost after exercise.

http://www.acefitness.org/acefit/fitness-fact-article/2639/healthy-hydration/

 So, not only have the headaches been bad, but I’ve also been suffering from a little restless legs in the middle of the night. I find that when I do a lot of physical activity that my body almost craves it while I’m sleeping. I’ve been trying to avoid sitting down for most of the day (unless I’m at the computer in my office and not at our bar height dining room table) and both in addition to and when I am unable to get in the distance that I like, practicing more yoga and Pilates. I wake up a lot of the nights with a need to stretch my piriformis muscle on my right hip. I have a congenital hip dysplasia on that side that troubles me from time to time, but mostly makes me want to stretch the heck out of my behind. The pigeon pose in yoga is one of my all time favorites for dealing with this issue and just to practice.  In fact, I just Skype’d this same picture to my sister the other day to help her with some hip stretching she needed to do:

https://i1.wp.com/kristinmcgee.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/06/pigeon-e1338738413918.jpg
I have never visited this particular fitness professional’s site other than to view this photo. I do not endorse her or her fitness advice as I have not thoroughly reviewed her materials, credibility, motivation to provide information, etc. However, this is a very wonderful example of the Pigeon Pose in yoga.

Ah, so relaxing…..you can also extend the arms (should you be flexible enough to do so) and rest your forehead on the mat/floor in this pose. It’s a nice time out. This pose stretches the hip external rotators of the front leg. This will hit your IT band, your piriformis, and down into some of those tough gluteals. It also stretches the hip flexors of the back leg. Always be sure to practice this pose only to the point of mild tension (think opposite of “No pain; No gain”) and on both sides. Remember that each side of your body is unique and uniquely flexible so you may not be able to perform it as deep on both sides.

Okay, so third thing that’s been happening with the running (and don’t forget to check out my progress on MapMyRun) is that I’m finding my feet to be shrinking. Yes, you read that right, SHRINKING! I always thought your feet were supposed to grow or spread out as you got older and had children, but apparently mine didn’t get the message. My shoes are starting to get loose and hurt my feet and that means it’s time to start scraping my pennies together to get a new pair. I went up a half a size this last time because I wasn’t sure the shoes would stretch out well enough and didn’t want the dreaded black toe disease that most runners encounter at some point in their training. This was a big mistake. If you go shoe shopping for running or walking shoes, have a qualified professional fit you and help you pick out something that meets functionality over fashion!!!!! I cannot stress this enough!!!! (Hence all the exclamation points.)

So, even though it’s not officially summer…..hydrate, stretch, get the right footwear, and most importantly: BREATHE!

