Thank Heavens for Moms and Zombie Runs

So very sad today as my mom went home to Iowa this morning. She was here to celebrate my youngest son’s first birthday, but her trips always seem too short. However, on this trip she gave me one of the greatest gifts that moms can give to other moms: TIME!

This last weekend I was able to run twice…on my own….without pushing a stroller. And it was PHENOMENAL! I am very proud of myself as my runs were 2.59mi and 2.75mi respectively at paces of 8:26/mi and 8:29/mi. I thought the second run was faster because something was going on with my body that day. I was running at a park and I felt like I was running for my life. I have no idea why I had this feeling, but I felt like I must look like someone who was running away from something. Now, I could go all metaphorical and deep here and suggest that as she and my kids were far behind me in a stroller somewhere that perhaps I was running from the responsibility of my family etc, but I think I was just somewhere between wanting to go really fast and my body still holding me back and trying to pace itself.

Either way, it got me thinking about what I want to have as an outcome goal with all this running I’ve been doing. So, I’m still trying to practice some sort of yoga every day (although I have not yet picked up the Amy Weintraub book again) and I’m behind on my 1000 miles for the year (but I’m getting more running in than ever before…plus, check out my new goal that I’m tracking on MapMyRun). I will be posting a new photo soon of my progress, but what am I going to do with all of this mileage?!

So, I started considering a Zombie Run. If you’ve done one of these, let me know how it is. I really, really, really, really want to try one. However, they are a little on the pricey side and the only one in North Carolina is the end of August which would not give me a whole lot of time to prepare myself for it mentally nor raise the money I would need. Thus, I’m going to put that on the 2015 list (I encourage you to check out the Zombie Runs by Human Movement Management and their other runs too).

For now that leaves my brain churning about what to do with these strong gams I’m producing by pounding the pavement all summer long. If you have some suggestions, throw them out here. I’d be happy to consider anything that’s within driving distance for my ultimate 2014 mileage goal. Triathlons will be back on the radar in 2016…..

P.S. Thanks Mom, I needed that boost and I love you!

