Hobbling Like a Hobbit

I spent a nice 3 days with some of my husband’s family this last weekend. It is something we have done every year for the last three years, but this year we were a few family members short due to illness. These visits with family are always nice, but a challenge because I tend to spend a lot of time not doing anything but eating and visiting. And the eating is not always mindful, but more social in nature.

When we got back on Sunday it was nice to be home again and Monday morning I was back pounding the pavement and thinking about all of the important issues that are always running in my mind. The run was short on purpose because Sunday evening I injured my hip again and it has been bothering me ever since. I am now hobbling around and, for some reason, can’t get the idea out of my head that I somehow look like a hobbit. The boys and I tackled a walk this morning too in attempting to get back in the groove, but my hip was just not into it. It was slow (18min/mi) and painful. Additional pain was added to the process by the fact that after 22 months of pregnancy and breastfeeding my cycle has returned and with a fervor! Thank goodness it was today and not yesterday.

Yesterday I was watching the TODAY show (as it’s always on in our house in the morning) and Jenna Wolfe was interviewing one of the creators of the Spartan Race series (see video here). It looked like so much fun and I wanted to start planning for how I could participate in one of these events. I was trying to decide if it would be better to train specifically for the event or to train as I usually do and then work on my burpees for my first attempt at a course. See, for every obstacle that you fail to accomplish you have to do 30 burpees before moving on to the next challenge. If you’ve never done a burpee or heard of one:

 

I love this step by step image, but also love this:

Yeah, burpees are not fun, but they are great exercise. Yesterday I decided to get started on my burpee training. I did exactly 8 before noticing my husband standing outside our front door in the pouring down rain like a creeper….LAUGHING at me! Why? I have still yet to figure that out, but I promptly stopped and haven’t gotten back to them today due to my uterus feeling like it’s being trampled by elephants. (Trust me…do NOT Google image search that phrase!)

Anyways, this all got me thinking about my yoga life. In yoga we teach the concept of non competition. Do not compete with others around you in order to do the pose the way they are doing it. Accept yourself for how you are and how you practice each day. Does it make me a bad yogi if I want to compete? How do I balance competition in other aspects of my life, but use the idea of non competition and acceptance to be balanced and happy? What is the opposite of non competition if it isn’t competition and therefore, do I not need a little of both to be balanced?

This is what is challenging my mind today through the cloud of Tylenol and Hershey’s bars. Therefore, I’m going to start on my 2015 challenge a little early (all of 5 months early, but it’s time). I am going back to a book I love called Meditations from the Mat by Rolf Gates. I am going to dig in on Monday, July 28th, and diligently do my reading, one each day, to help me re-learn some more about yoga and myself. I want to figure out how to be a competitor and a yogi at the same time. Want to join me? Pick up the book or just follow along. In the process, I am going to work up to doing as many burpees as I can and pick a Spartan Race to accomplish no later than July 28, 2015.

Okay, because I know you’re dieing to find out….here’s one of the scary images of a uterus trampled by an elephant:

SOOOOO glad I only have one uterus to give me troubles! Happy Tuesday everyone!

