A Brief Hiatus

I was gone from the blog world for the last week for a couple of reasons. The first being that in the middle of teaching a weekend full of yoga my cycle started up with a fury again which rendered me useless for the first four days of the week. I mean, I was laying on the couch with my oldest, fearing standing up and trying not to paint the house red. It was not a good few days. This also further hindered my running progress as I couldn’t get out of the house, much less move around freely. I don’t remember ever experiencing feminine problems like this other than two months ago. And, if this is how it is going to be from now on, then bring on the menopause! In my previous life I took Clomid, so I’m good with the night sweats etc if it means that I can at least keep running daily.

Another reason I wasn’t here to write to you about all that is going on in the world of me and to provide you with some thoughts on fitness and yoga (maybe those are really one in the same) is because I was working a lot last week. I had set myself up with a few too many deadlines including more travel this weekend. In looking at my family’s calendar we are only “unbooked” for two more weekends this entire YEAR! Those include Halloween and the weekend before Christmas. It doesn’t mean we’ll be gone all of that time, but still, busy is busy.

Things I’ve been working on:

  • CEC Courses for NETA
  • Lectures for teaching
  • Homework assignments for my students
  • Blog post ideas

And the final reason is books. I’ve barely broken open the Patanjali’s Sutras book that I’ve had for five weeks now and can only renew one more time (have to finish that in the next 4 weeks) and I’m still in the first section of my Gates’ book (but still working hard on my meditations…more about that later this week). However, I have fallen deep into a new book recommended to me by a lovely woman I met in Asheville last month. It is called The Read Aloud Handbook by Jim Trelease. If you have kids, work with kids, or even know kids….GET THIS BOOK! Although, sadly, my library only carried the 5th edition (now there are 7) I am still immensely enjoying learning all the ways that I can continue to show my boys that reading is enjoyable. I want them to grow up to love reading and writing and to speak in such a manner that shows their true intelligence and creativity.

Today I:

  • Stepped back into my running shoes (check out what I’ve still been able to do this month on MapMyRun)
  • Stepped back onto my yoga mat and
  • Crawled back into the blog world

I’ll be back tomorrow with some more good fitness news for you. Until then check out these books on yoga that I love and recommend to help with your love of reading:

  • The Science of Yoga: The Risks and the Rewards By William J Broad
  • The seven spiritual laws of yoga: A practical guide to healing body, mind, and spirit by Deepak Chopra
  • Bikram yoga: the guru behind hot yoga shows the way to radiant health and personal fulfillment by Bikram Choudhury
  • Yoga for Back Pain by Loren Fishman
  • Yoga for Osteoporosis by Loren Fishman
  • Meditations from the Mat: Daily Reflections on the Path of Yoga by Rolf Gates
  • Yoga: The Path To Holistic Health by BKS Iyengar
  • Light on the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali: Patanjala Yoga Pradipika by BKS Iyengar
  • Light on Life: the yoga journey to wholeness, inner peace, and ultimate freedom by BKS Iyengar
  • Wheels of Life by Anodea Judith
  • Relax and Renew by Judith Lasater
  • 30 Essential Yoga Poses: For Beginning Students and Their Teachers by Judith Lasater
  • Hell-Bent: Obession, Pain, and The Search for Something Like Transcendence in Competitive Yoga by Benjamin Lorr
  • The Yoga Sutras of Patanjali: a new translation and commentary by Patanjali
  • Living at the Source: Yoga teachings of Vivekananda by Swami Vivekananda
  • Yoga for Depression by Amy Weintraub

What’s on your fall reading list?

One thought on “A Brief Hiatus

  1. I've been slightly removed from the blog world too lately- its pretty much combination of work, writers block and i dunno, life i guess. normally these things inspire me to write on the blog, but lately work is just getting in the way. I like your focus on centering yourself again in order to come back.

    Like

Comments are closed.