Meditation Monday #4 – Thankfulness

Here’s another post that didn’t post yesterday, so I’ve updated it for today and this afternoon you can find your Tone It Up Tuesday post.

Meditation Monday on the week of Thanksgiving and we’re still talking about Brahmacarya. I have spent some extra time on this topic and my meditation because moderation is such an important part of how I live my life and the things I teach in my line of work.

I’m good enough; I’m smart enough; and doggone it, people like me!
In the Day 40 reading in the Gates book he writes that we (humans) live with “the mistaken belief that we are not ok as we are.” I took deeply to this reading at this time of year because what a better push to reflect on all the ways that we should be thankful than to realize that we reside inside of this misguided image of always needing to be more. That we are causing our own intemperance by doing more and seeking more that always ends in more strife. We view our lives as unsuccessful when we cannot find external validation for all of the hours we put in, the money we spend, the giving of ourselves. We live, very often, in a state of “keeping up with the Joneses” and very rarely in a state of contentment with what we have. It takes a lot of courage to walk away from the struggle that is life, from addiction, from the fear of not being enough. It takes mounds and mounds of courage to walk into a life of self acceptance and moderation. We realize that it is not about “thenwhat?” or “how does life get better?”…..it’s about “how great is this as it is?”
I am kind of behind in sharing this link, but purposefully waited until this week.
Let’s spend this next week appreciating what we have and not what we don’t. Don’t ask yourself what you could change to make yourself better, but what you could change about the way you look at yourself and your life to make your world better. Imagine if we stopped judging ourselves and others and just saw the light inside of each of us and were thankful that it was there. What if we let that light shine as brightly as it could without casting clouds of need and self doubt over it?
This week I am thankful to be here in Iowa. Thankful for my friends and their health (at whatever stage it is that has kept them to this day). I am thankful for my students and co-workers and that they exist to enrich my life in ways that are not measured in dollars and cents. I am thankful for my family and my children who are miracles beyond belief to me. I am thankful that I exist and that my lungs fill with air each day. I breathe in, I breathe out, I am in awe of the world around me.

 

What are you thankful for this year?
