Looking Ahead

Sorry it’s been a week since I’ve checked in. I traveled to Iowa and then had to drive back with the two boys and my sister after 5 days at my mom’s house. It was an adventure that I’m lucky to have already forgotten the bad parts of and am ready to repeat in May. But, it made me want to take some time to play catch up around the house this week…..especially since I came home to a broken washing machine (more on that in a post next week). But, I’m back for a totally random Thursday post because I know you’ve missed my rants. 🙂

I was at the doctor today and she gave me my fodder for my thoughts today. I started this blog back in January with the goal of eliminating a lot of things from my life and basically cleaning it up. I feel like I’ve accomplished that in so many ways this year. I have cleared my mind of some seriously negative thoughts, I’ve broken a few bad habits, and I’ve gotten rid of quite a lot of things (and more so once I drop off the bag that’s on the front seat of my car). Now that we’re approaching the end of the year, I want to start planning for next year. I like to think of myself as a planner, not a worrier. I find that I work so much better with a plan. So, back to the doctor….

My new doctor gave me a list of things that she asks each of her patients to pick from. The idea is to pick one new healthy habit and when you can accomplish that new habit, it’s like a tool in your tool box so that you know you can make lifestyle changes….one little thing at a time. Here is the list:

  • Brush your teeth 2x/day
  • Floss your teeth 1x/day
  • Eat a handful of raw nuts 5days/week
  • Use olive oil 1t/day
  • Eat avocado 5days/week
  • Use flaxseed 1t/day
  • Eat protein at breakfast 5days/week
  • Eat 4oz of salmon 2x/week
  • Get 8-9hours of sleep 7days/week
  • Wake with the sunrise 7days/week
  • Volunteer 1x/week
  • Garden 15min/day
  • Walk briskly 15min/day
  • Do yoga 15min/day (she even has a yoga DVD she offers patients if they choose this one)
  • Meditate 15min/day
  • Eat 4 veggies every day
  • Attend an exercise class 1x/week
  • Get out of your chair 1x/hour
  • Do your housework fast (within 15 min)
  • Limit your TV daily
 Which would you choose?
Which would you vote for me to choose?
Do you think it’s a good idea for a doctor to set goals like these with their patients?
Is there anything we should add to her list?

