Fast Friday: SMART goals

Okay, we will make this Friday’s Fast Tip really fast. If you’re still thinking about your New Year’s Resolution or making any sort of changes to your life this year, then try to follow SMART goal setting.

Specific – Your goal should not be vague in any way, shape, or form. Don’t say, “I want to get more fit.” “I want to lose weight.” “I want to be healthier and happier.” These non-specific goals don’t meet the rest of the SMART criteria and are most likely to fail.

Measurable – How will you know if you’ve reached your goal? If your goal contains the words more or less, then define how much more or how much less. Use numbers in your goal.

Action-oriented – Try not to make passive goals that don’t require you to do something. Change requires work and we shouldn’t be afraid to put forth the effort if we really want the end result.

Realistic – Yeah, we’d all love to look like we did in high school, win a million dollars, and date Brad Pitt, but it ain’t gonna happen! Also look at what is realistic for your lifestyle. One change a time and knowing that if you want to lose weight that it didn’t all come on over night, so it won’t all disappear that fast either.

Time Bound – You have to have a finish point. It’s best to have both long-term and short-term goals. A long-term goal is anything that won’t be completed in the next year, while a short-term goal will be much closer. 

It’s really great if you can set smaller short-term goals in the process of reaching your long-term goal.  For example, my goal of seeing myself differently, as a strong(er) woman has many steps that I have to complete. I have hurdles that I need to get over and things to let go of. It also requires that I see myself as whole and complete without other things necessary to hold me up. So, if you read my post from yesterday you’ll see I’m letting go of the idea that I should have more children. I’m also working on the physical part of that goal by doing my mini challenges and my workouts set up in Tuesday’s post.

No matter what your goal is for the year, try to align it with a SMART goal to make it more effective!

Happy Friday! Enjoy your weekend and I’ll see you back here on Sunday for some more food talk!

