Simple Simon Sunday: Things that go wrong when I vegan bake and other tragedies in cooking for my family

YUM! Well, it was yum in my opinion….This is the Vegan Lemon “Raspberry” bread that we talked about last week. I subbed in raspberries instead of blueberries because it sounded good and I was going to use my frozen blueberries for some brownies for a friend. I decided to let my big guy take the reins in the baking that day and we made it through with minimal spills. Our bread turned out a little flatter than I expected (hard to tell from that shot I know) and I hate when it cracks on top. I attribute this to the use of baking powder in the recipe. From what I learned by reading Baker Bettie, I probably should have gone with baking soda instead due to the high acidity of the ingredients. That or my baking powder might have gotten a little old. Either way, I used up all of my baking powder and have had to sub other items all week long as a trip to the grocery store has not been on the agenda.  However, we forgot one key ingredient: THE FLAX! That was the whole point of me making this breakfast bread….to mix in some flax seed and start using that stuff up and enjoying all of it’s benefits. So, back to the drawing board and I’ve got a new recipe below for you that I “created” this morning and was sure to include the flax.

The rest of the week involved a lot of food battles on the home front. My youngest is a far pickier eater than his brother, but both met meals this week that they did not enjoy. Here are some of the dishes that I enjoyed, but my kids were on the fence about:
IGE: Thai Peanut Chicken Quinoa Bowls
White Bean “Meatballs” from the Cookin’ Canuck
We also had a soup that a friend had given us for Christmas, flounder that my husband caught this past summer (they devoured that), pork chops I marinated in sage and a raspberry walnut vinaigrette, and some salmon I baked in lemon and dill (salmon is usually a hit, but perhaps it was just the night). I’m hoping that some of the recipes I choose for this week will hit a few more home runs. We are still struggling with veggies for the youngest, so if you have any good veggie recipes that your picky eaters will gobble up, send them my way.

Back to the breakfast breads…I went with a bread recipe that I modified to make muffins this morning; one batch of adult sized and one batch of minis for the boys. And this time I remembered the flax!

Peanut Butter Banana Chocolate Chip Flax Breakfast Muffins or….
All you need to be happy on a Sunday morning

1. Preheat Oven to 350F and grease your muffin pans or line them with paper cups. I avoid the paper cup route because I find that half of the muffin gets stuck to them. 😦

2. Combine 1c sugar (you can do 1/2c each white and brown if you want more of a toffee flavor) with 1 stick of butter and beat until smooth and creamy. Beat in 2 large eggs.

3. Add in 2c all purpose flour, 2 large or 3 small ripe bananas, 1/2c creamy peanut butter (I’m sure any nut butter would be good and I want to try this with almond) and 1 baking soda. Mix well.

4. Add in 2T or more of flax seed to give a nice crunch and stir in 1/2c each semi-sweet and dark chocolate chips (or any flavor that you like). We like a lot of chocolate chips at our house and this can be reduced to 1/2c total or omitted all together if you like.

5. Spoon into muffin pans and bake 25 minutes for large muffins or 15 minutes for mini muffins or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

6. ENJOY!

I won’t be posting next Sunday as it is my son’s 4th birthday, but I will be sharing photos of his cake the week after. Until then,

Have you ever had bread turn out flat?
What are your favorite mix ins to muffins and breads?
What does your family like for breakfast other than cereal?
Is there a picky eater in your house?
