Tone It Up Tuesday: Exercise for fun! (End of Year Giveaway/Fitness Challenge #2)

UGH! I went for a run this morning and I pushed my kids for the first time in months! It was awful! But, not really because I was glad to get back to running after having most of last week off due to illnesses in the family. It was slow (9:51/mile), but I did it….even when I wanted to stop and walk.

This was one of the days that exercise was exercise for me. Most of the time I’m blessed to experience fun when I exercise; just flat out enjoyment and amazement at what my body can do. I have been lucky my whole life to enjoy genetically gifted endurance and quick recovery times. So, the rare days when exercise is not fun, or hard, are the ones that make me yearn for something all together different.

Before I get to my mini goals for the month in my quest to feel stronger and see myself as stronger in the dimension of physical fitness, let’s talk about this month’s Fitness Challenge. We’re only at Number 2 of 12, so you still have plenty of time to join in. Just click the link at the bottom of the page to find out all of the rules and catch up. So, your Fitness Challenge this month is to make exercise fun like it used to be when you were a kid.

I will be purchasing a jump rope for myself the next time that I get paid, because it’s something I’ve always enjoyed doing and I’m not sure why I don’t own one. Plus, my kids have never even tried one, so I think it will be something fun for my 4 year old and I to work on together. I’m also going to dig out my old roller blades that are sitting in their box in the garage and have been untouched for a few (maybe as many as 10) years. It might not yet be spring, but I’m looking for all sorts of ways to get back outside and get active on the nice days that we get here in the southeast.

Not going to crazy jump like this……

Ike and I played hopscotch the other day in our garage. Did you know that hopping on one foot is a 4 year old skill? Thank goodness he’s had practice and I could check that off of his developmental list at his physical. We’re also going to try some four square (which isn’t really aerobic, but still active) and we’ve been working on the monkey bars. He’s really quite good at them, but I stink, so more upper body work for Mama! The book I read awhile ago about homeschooling for preschoolers (you can read my post about it here) suggested building obstacle courses for your kids as a gross motor skill developmental activity. We’ll be doing some of that both in and out of the house, but it also makes me want to do some of the outdoor fitness workouts at the local parks.

My mini fitness goals for this month are as follows:

  • Keep trying to do aerobic training 4 or more days/week (see my post this coming Friday about what kind of training is best for you!)
  • Keep each run at a minimum of 2.08 miles and work toward 3 miles
  • Continue my push-up/Warrior series every 3 days (yesterday, the 2nd, was my first one of February)
  • Do exercise for fun activity at least 1x/week for the month
  • Add in two new exercises: Pilates ring for biceps and lats/serratus anterior (3 sets of 20 reps alternating) and Physio ball hamstring curls (20 total)

So, in your fitness goals this month, I hope you will join our challenge and post below about an experience with exercise for fun. You can read the complete rules about the giveaway and challenge here:

Which activity from your childhood can you commit to trying once a week for a month to make exercise more fun?
What other activities do you think I should try out?
2 thoughts on “Tone It Up Tuesday: Exercise for fun! (End of Year Giveaway/Fitness Challenge #2)

Comments are closed.