Simple Simon Sunday: Soup and Chili

It is COLD here today! Yes, I know, I’m always bragging about our temps here, but today it is actually cold….like close to freezing cold. And this gets me thinking about soup and chili again. You can read about my chili here. This winter we’ve eating a variety of soups and chilis almost every week. Today I’m going to share two new recipes my family has enjoyed, but first a little quiz for you.

(Please remember that I do not claim to be a Registered Dietician, so all of the information provided below is researched and given by such professional.)

Which do you think is better for you? (Answers at the end.)

Bison or Beef
Apples or Pears
Almonds or Walnuts
Kale or Spinach
Canned Salmon or Canned Tuna
Whole Wheat Bread or Sprouted Bread
Quinoa or Brown Rice
Turkey Breast or Chicken Breast
Cheddar Cheese or Swiss Cheese
Pink Grapefruit or Oranges
Greek Yogurt or Regular Yogurt
Tilapia or Halibut
Green Bell Peppers or Red Bell Peppers
Kidney Beans or Black Beans
Canned Corn or Frozen Corn
In some of my attempt to eat with the seasons and also to try and save some money, I went in search of some new recipes for venison. We inherit some each year from friends and it’s always a challenge to figure out new ways to eat it. We love it and it’s a really lean meat, but you have to get creative from time to time. This year especially because we ended up with a lot of steak or tenderloin or roast (not really sure the correct name of the cut) meat this year and not any ground. In my search I came across this tasty venison stew that incorporated barley (one of the items on my list) and was so delicious that I wanted to share it with you here:

1.  1# Pound venison stake in small cubes
2.  5 Cups of water/ 1 cup added with barley
3.  4 Bouillon cubes beef flavor
4.  2/3 cup Quick Barley
5.  1 teaspoon salt
6.  1 bay leaf
7.  Pepper to taste
8.  1 Cup Carrots diced
9.  1 Cup onion diced 
10.  1 Can petite diced tomatoes 
11. 1 Cup frozen peas 
12. 2 tablespoons cooking oil

Some substitutions I made:
  • I didn’t add the extra cup of water because I wanted it to be more stew like and less soup like
  • I used almost a whole cup of this
    instead of just barley
  • I used 1/4t thyme instead of the bay leaf (gave the meat an almost pot roast or lamb flavor and made the house smell soooo good!)
  • I used frozen carrots and peas mixed and did 2 cups added at the same time toward the end of the recipe

We made this to share with friends and there wasn’t a bit left over. I also made a box of Jiffy cornbread muffins in which I add in about 1/2 c of applesauce 2T honey and sub reduced sugar vanilla almond milk for the regular milk. I still add the egg and it comes out fluffy and moist and was the perfect “sweet” to the “salty” of the stew.

The second soup that I loved, maybe more than my family, but probably in part because something went wrong in the making of the soup was this one from IGE:
Gluten Free White Queso Chicken and Rice Soup

  • 1 Tablespoon butter
  • 1lb chicken breasts, cut into bite-sized pieces
  • 1 green bell pepper, seeded then chopped
  • 1 shallot or 1/2 small onion, chopped
  • salt and pepper
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 6 cups (48oz) chicken broth
  • 2 cups milk, divided (I used 2%)
  • 10oz can Rotel
  • 1 Tablespoon chili powder
  • 3/4 cup long grain white rice
  • 1/4 cup gluten-free or all-purpose flour (see notes for brand used)
  • 8oz shredded white cheddar cheese
  • Crushed tortilla chips, for topping
I completely left out the green bell pepper on this one because no one in my family likes the green variety and I was out of red at the time. And it was whole milk I dumped in because we have only that and fat free, so I was worried about not having enough fat content for the soup to be creamy….maybe should have done one cup each. I used brown basmati rice in this one and my favorite white cheddar cheese that I discovered while living in Vermont.
That cheese is sooo delicious with an apple too.
Somehow I wasn’t stirring well enough and ended up with lots of lumps of cheese and flour in my soup, but ate it anyway. Kristin Porter sure does make a great soup!
Here are a two other chili ideas from Ambitious Kitchen that will be making their way to our table this month and don’t forget about her cornbread muffin recipe either!
So, now the answers to the quiz:
Bison, Pears, Almonds, Kale, Canned Salmon, Sprouted Bread, Quinoa, Turkey Breast, Swiss Cheese, Pink Grapefruit, Greek Yogurt, Halibut, Red Bell Peppers, Kidney Beans, and Frozen Corn
(Sorry, you’ll have to subscribe to get the full article here, but can read some of Matthew Kadey’s , MS, RD other articles here.)
How did you do on the quiz?
What is keeping you warm this winter?
Have you tried any of the seasonal food items yet?
3 thoughts on “Simple Simon Sunday: Soup and Chili

  1. I got the apple/pear, cheese, fish, peppers, and beans wrong.NOTHING is keeping me warm this winter. I hate winter. I don't use that word often…but I HATE winter.My daughters and I are all over mandarin oranges…is that considered seasonal?

    Like

  2. The boys have really been into clementines, but sometimes ask for one and then….after its all peeled…..decide it's not exactly what they wanted. So, then we have to watch it sit there. 😦 I would guess that these would fall under the spring seasonal foods. I know that lemons and limes fall into that category as well as mangoes, so I'm going to guess oranges and their varieties as well.

    Like

  3. Oh man! I have to give one to Jocelyn to peel (she can do it!) while I peel and cut the slices on the other one otherwise she's too impatient. She'll usually eat both. Alexandria ate 5 the other day! But only because we ran out. I don't even want to think about how many she could have eaten.

    Like

Comments are closed.