Simple Simon Sunday: Don’t Save the Best for Last

I’m sorry for the delay on this post and the double posting for today, but I spent a lot of my weekend outdoors and helping my husband work on some construction projects, so it left little time for writing, reading, or other “me time” activities.

For our Simple Simon Sunday this week I wanted to talk about eating habits. I’ve often noted that I am not a registered dietician, so I don’t plan on sharing any information on this site that can be misconstrued as actual advice for what foods to eat and which ones to avoid. In fact, if you’ve been checking out any of my posts about food you may have found that I don’t really label anything as off limits, but rather that I subscribe to the Mindful Eating habits I learned while interning at Green Mountain at Fox Run. They do have a registered dietician on staff, so if you’re looking for more info, I suggest checking them out.

But this weekend I was thinking about a lot of different eating strategies people I know have subscribed to and how some of them are so very wrong! Here’s a little list I created, plus the recipe we’ll be making this morning at our house….AGAIN, because it was just so darn delicious!

1. Skipping meals – As a certified personal trainer and someone with a Masters degree in this field I can tell you that you shouldn’t be skipping meals. Your body is like a machine and it needs fuel to keep it running. Skipping meals is basically asking your machine to run on empty. I drive a hybrid car and while it has this HUGE battery that will sustain it a little past the gas gives out, I can tell you that it’s not a great idea to run a car down that far and neither is a good idea to deplete your body of the nutrients it needs to continue to maintain normal functions like breathing, pumping blood, and using your brain.

2. Eating a million small meals throughout the day – While this strategy has worked for some people I know, in my opinion it does little for helping curb food issues. For some people they end up becoming obsessed with when will they get to eat again (see also skipping meals) and for others they feel the pressure to eat when they’re not hungry because they’re on some sort of schedule. The current food recommendations from the US government suggest three balanced meals a day and a couple of healthy snacks. Personally, I shoot for my three balanced meals each day and on some days I also have a couple of snacks and on other days I don’t have any. I also try not to force myself to eat when I’m not hungry. I don’t like the stuffed feeling that comes from that and I hate when food becomes non-palatable to me.

3. Food combinations – This one is just crazy to me in some senses, but smart in others. There is such a thing as an incomplete protein in the food world (complete ones primarily come from meat sources), so for those people who choose not to eat complete proteins, certain food combinations can form complimentary proteins from two incomplete proteins. My favorite example is beans and rice. Eat them together and you’re getting all of the amino acids that your body needs.

What to Eat: People who are into food combinations are nuts.

4. Ending on the best bite – A friend of mine, who will remain nameless, told me once that he liked to finish his meals on the best bite. He would purposefully save what looked like the tastiest portion of his food to eat last. There are two things that I see wrong with this strategy. First, what if your first bite is the best? Then, are you continually chasing a better bite and continuing to eat when you’re not hungry in order to achieve a better bite? Or do I just stop after that one in fear of not having a better bite? And second, do I have to eat every last bit of the food to make sure that I end on the best bite and leave nothing to chance? Also, if I really like dessert, should I eat that first?

No matter what you choose to do with your eating habits, I think you should seriously take some time to check out the Mindful Eating info over at GMFR and ask yourself, is this chosen path really logical and beneficial to me?

Finally, see those muffins up above? We made those from a recipe we found over at Running with Spoons: Apple Oat Greek Yogurt Muffins, with a few changes.

  • We used a banana in place of the applesauce as we were out that day
  • We used Stoneyfield Organic French Vanilla Whole Milk Yogurt instead of Greek because that’s also what was in the fridge
  • We used 1 cup or so of frozen blueberries as we were also out of raisins

We kind of made these on a whim (as you can tell by our substitutions) and they were a breakfast and snack hit for as long as they lasted. We have applesauce and fresh blueberries today, so we’re giving them another go.

As you can tell, the anticipation was killing them! Have a great week ahead everyone and I’ll see you back here this afternoon!

What unique eating habits have you or someone you know practiced in the past?
