Tone It Up Tuesday: Gear for the Ladies

Welcome to March everyone! 
Is your month coming in like a lion or a lamb?
Cutest bento lunch for kids I’ve seen in awhile!

In Wilmington the weather is very confused as to what it wants to do. One day it’s very cold, the next I’m wearing shorts, then it’s raining, then it’s 75….who knows what to expect next! I have three big things to talk about this week:

  1. Goals for March Training
  2. Fitness Challenge #3
  3. The Big Give Away Prize

Let’s take it from the top!

Goals for March Training
You may remember last year when I was slightly drunk with enthusiasm….or maybe delusional when I made the goal to accomplish 1000 miles by the end of the year. Yeah, that fell through big time due to so many different factors that I have learned not to set my sights so high. This year I’ve been using SMART goal setting techniques and making each month build upon the last.

Currently I am doing my dedicated exercises every three days and that includes:

  • 20 modified push-ups
  • Warrior series 12 breaths each pose and each side
  • Pilates ring exercises for biceps and lats 3 sets of 20 each exercise and each side rotating
  • 20 physio ball hamstrings curls

I almost reached my goal last month of running no less than 2.08 miles on each of my runs, but fell short on a run while in Tulsa. I did make it up to over 3 miles by the end of the month, but have fallen short on the 4 or more days a week of aerobic training due to weather. And, unfortunately, I missed out on much of the exercise for fun (other than playing with my kiddos) at least once a week due to weather.

So, I’m hoping that March will bring me some better weather days (like yesterday) that will help me on my way. Some new goals for March include the following:

  • Run the stairs at least 15 times up and down on days I am not running or walking outdoors (that’s today)
  • Every Monday in March walk the 4.13 mile loop at Greenfield Lake with Brittany (yesterday=check)
  • Log a total of 50 miles or more (that’s the amount I did between January and February, but with the Monday walk each week it should get boosted easily)
  • To the above resistance training (because none of it has become too easy yet other than the noted exceptions with the Pilates ring) add Bird Dogs (20 each side with opposite arm and leg) and 20 Pilates scissors (that’s 10 each leg)

Bird Dog – Great for working the multifidus muscles of the back
Pilates Scissors – Great for working the abdominals and improving hip mobility, just keep the head neutral

Fitness Challenge #3
We’re into our third month and honestly, I’m feeling great about how strong I find myself to be on most days. However, I had a little bit of a moment this weekend while helping my husband with construction projects. I just don’t lift weights at this moment and while I can lift my own body weight, barn doors are a little bit of a challenge.

This month is when most of the people fall off of the bandwagon if they haven’t already. Something happens after Spring Break that sends people back into old routines, so your fitness challenge this month is to find a support system to keep you accountable. I did this by planning my Monday walks with a friend of mine. She and I used to live down the street from each other and we walked almost daily. A year ago I moved across town and, while she has moved closer since then, we still don’t walk daily as we did before. She also wants to get back into running more, so our plan is to use our 4 mile course to start with walking and then next month start running the first mile and walking the remaining three together. We will build from there, but even if we do other stuff throughout the week, we have one day that we are accountable to show up and do it with someone else. We depend on each other!

If you haven’t joined our challenge yet, go back and check out the other two….it’s not too late! All you have to do this month is make a pact with a friend to be accountable one day a week for your activity. It can be anything you want it to be! Then comment below and tell us how you are doing and who you’re doing it with. Remember that you have to also follow the blog (see that link to the right?) to be eligible for the end of the year give away. Full rules in these two links:

The Big Give Away Prize
So, that brings us to the final item on our agenda for today…the announcement of the prize! I’ve done a lot of thinking and one thing that would really help me in life is access to more gear. Gear being fitness clothes, shoes, quality sports bras, and other random equipment. One of my favorite places to shop for some of this stuff is Title 9 Sports. I mentioned about one of their bras here. So, to empower the rest of you to get something you might need or want to improve your performance next year, I will be giving away a $50 gift card to one random participant who completes all 12 challenges. Please see the link to Fitness Challenge #1 above for the complete rules of participation. I hope you’ll join us in having a happier and healthier 2015!
Who is your fitness support?
For what and how will you keep each other accountable?
*Special note that this blog is not officially sponsored by Title 9 Sports*
