TOLT: Stress and Playlists

Did you know that music has an affect on your athletic performance?

On the role of lyrics in the music–exercise performance relationship (Sanchez et al 2013)

Both studies found that listening to music affects your psychological performance during exercise and your attitude toward how you feel. While it won’t change your heart rate, nor make you workout longer, it can change the stress level associated with performing the activity. Some day I will talk with you more about how perceived stress levels influence your choice of activity and how likely you are to stick with something, but for today I want to talk about why music is so important to my performance.

Today I had three pre-cavities filled. I call them pre-cavities because my dentist described them as little holes in the deep grooves of my teeth (She said I have groovy teeth!) that would turn into cavities if they weren’t filled in. She also informed me that people with groovy teeth have this problem a lot no matter how well they take care of their teeth. So, after my appointment I couldn’t move part of my face. I’m not talking the normal numb feeling that you have where you can’t control where your lips are going or how often you bite your tongue so hard it bleeds. I’m talking…when I smiled half of my face just didn’t even move! This was more than a little disconcerting to me. I looked like a stroke patient.

That brings me to my second stress at the moment. On Tuesday night my mom called to tell me that my aunt was in emergency surgery. Two days and two surgeries later we know that she suffered from a serious stroke called a subarachnoid hemorrhage. I am still waiting to hear if her respirator has been removed today and then we wait to see what kind of damage was done. My aunt will be 51 next week (younger than both of my parents). This really hit home for me because I am so far away from my family. Things like this make me feel helpless, sad, and anxious.

When I feel this way I choose to exercise….most of the time. And when I exercise, I would really like to shut out the thoughts in my head, so I try to listen to music. Here’s a sampling of what I get to listen to while I run.

Songs currently stuck in my head:

  • Children’s Nursery Rhymes/Pre-school songs like the Wheels on the Bus, ABC song, and The Song that Never Ends (See way cute video here by Harlow over at MommyShorts)
  • Theme songs to children’s shows my kids watch like Chuggington, Curious George, and Dinosaur Train
  • Songs my oldest son made up which is usually the same song: If you love your mama; don’t forget (repeat 3x), If you love your daddy; don’t forget (repeat 3x), If you love your brother; don’t forget (repeat 3x) then make up whatever other things you don’t want to forget

My actual playlist on Truffle Shuffle:

  • You Ought to Know – Alanis Morissette
  • Fat Lip – Sum 41
  • Danger Zone – Kenny Loggins
  • Jumpin’ Jumpin’ – Destiny’s Child
  • Butterfly – Crazy Town
  • Send the Pain Below – Chevelle
  • Bulls on Parade – Rage Against the Machine
  • Can’t Stop – RHCP
  • Hollaback Girl – Gwen Stefani
  • Come On Closer – Jem
  • Stacy’s Mom – Fountains of Wayne
  • Comedown – Bush
  • My Humps – Black Eyed Peas
  • The Whole World – Outkast
  • Hey Baby – No Doubt
  • Shake It – Metro Station
  • Pump It – Black Eyed Peas
  • Give it Away – RHCP
  • Baby One More Time – Britney Spears
  • Sk8ter Boy – Avril Lavigne
  • Toxic – Britney Spears
  • R.O.C.K. in the U.S.A. – John Mellencamp
  • Satisfaction – Rolling Stones
  • She Hates Me – Puddle of Mudd
  • I Will Buy You a New Life – Everclear
  • Machinehead – Bush
  • Happy Boys and Girls – Aqua
  • All the Things She Said – Tatu (the Russian version)
  • Chop Suey! – System of a Down
  • Hand in My Pocket – Alanis Morissette
  • It’s All Been Done – Barenaked Ladies
  • Turn Back Time – Aqua
  • Oops! I Did it Again – Britney Spears
  • If I had $1,000,000 – Barenaked Ladies
  • I’m a Slave 4 U – Britney Spears
  • Good Morning Sunshine – Aqua
  • Doctor Jones – Aqua
  • Coin-Operated Boy – The Dresden Dolls
  • My Oh My – Aqua
  • Everything You Want – Vertical Horizon
  • You’re a God – Vertical Horizon
  • The Distance – Cake
  • All The Small Things – Blink 182
  • Life in the Fast Lane – Eagles
  • Barbie Girl – Aqua
  • Glycerine – Bush
  • Lollipop – Aqua
  • The Red – Chevelle
  • Come Out and Play – Offspring
  • What’s My Age Again – Blink 182
  • Hella Good – No Doubt
  • Roses are Red – Aqua
  • Nitro – Offspring
  • Be A Man – Aqua
  • Crazy – Gnarls Barkley
  • Hey Ya! – OutKast
  • Hash Pipe – Weezer
  • Heat of the Night – Aqua
  • Stupid Girl – Garbage

I know it’s a long list, but remember it’s a shuffle and I never hear the same songs on each run/workout. Can you tell that I was in high school in the late 90’s?

Current song I’d love to have on TS: 
Shut Up and Dance with Me – Walk the Moon

As I’m a little under the weather today and the weather is rainy, I’m going to crank the tunes and do the stairs to de-stress. It’s the next day of my every 3rd day workout series, so I’m going to spend the next hour of nap time doing my exercises and letting go of somethings that are weighing me down. I hope you’re all enjoying your Thursdays and Thanks to Amanda for hosting the Link Up again this week!

Until next time, breathe in the good around you and exhale your worries.

How do you de-stress?
Do you listen to music while you exercise?
What’s on your play list these days?
