TOLT: Who Am I?

Am I the only one who has had that dream where Robin Williams is your real dad and you just realized that and he’s hugging you and telling you that everything will be okay and you’re introducing him to his grandsons at an indoor trampoline park?

Yeah, that was me Tuesday night and for some reason I was extremely comforted….until the moment that my 4 year old walked into my bedroom at 6am Wednesday morning and announced that he had thrown up in his bedroom. Yuck! So, I spent yesterday low key with him and deciding what to write about for this week’s:

Last week Michelle over at Rubber Shoes in Hell wrote this really interesting post entitled Who Do You Think You Are? Then, at last week’s Think Out Loud Thursday Link Up I came across Megan’s post at Skinny Fitalicious: Who’s Megan? Get To Know Me Better! This started me thinking…. When I go through the link up posts I tend to read the bios of the authors because, as a fitness professional, I care about what other info is being posted out there and who is posting it. My blog is posted on Blogger and I only have so many characters to post my bio and I don’t know if anyone actually reads it or not. It’s not all encompassing. I also did an extended post at one point to answer some questions nominated to me by Stef S. at It’s a Long Story (you can read mine here and here). I have tried off and on throughout the last year to share more about who I am and what I do and why I’m here. Today, though, I thought I’d give you some random questions and their answers and ask you to do the same in return.

Pick your favorite question from below to respond to in the comments section.

1. Where did you grow up?
I’m originally from Cedar Rapids, Iowa. It is not famous for much, but it is the only other city in the WHOLE WORLD (besides Paris, France) to have it’s city government building on an island. Oh, and during the great floods of 2008 my hometown made the cover of the NY Times. Since that time I have addresses in Ames, Iowa; Travis AFB, CA; Vacaville, CA; Fairfield, CA; Ludlow, VT; San Angelo, TX; Colorado Springs, CO; Elon, NC; Burlington, NC; Greenville, NC; and currently Wilmington, NC.

2. What is your biggest non-blog related pet peeve?
I’m pretty sure that I’ve mentioned this a few times….prejudice. I just don’t get it, but then again, that makes me prejudice against the ignorant.

3. Have you ever stolen a street sign before?
Not that I recall, but I really wanted to take one near my grandparents’ farm. It’s for Dingleberry Road. That just strikes me as hilarious!

4. What did you think you wanted to be when you grew up?
At one point I wanted to be a nurse like my mom. Then a teacher like my 1st grade teacher, Mrs. Child. Then, the first woman in the NBA. Pretty much since that time (7th grade) I have focused on something sport, health, or fitness related. Never did I expect to be a stay at home mom….even when I tried to be during my first marriage. Also, until about 4 years ago I never thought I’d want my PhD. Now I want it so bad that it hurts when I think about not pursuing it for quite some time to come.

Once I took an aptitude test that told me that I should be either a lawyer or a high ranking military officer….hm? For those of you who know me personally, what do you think about those results?

5. When were you last embarrassed? What happened?
Oh, pretty much any time I’m teaching I run into a moment where I say the wrong thing. Other than that, it’s pretty hard to embarrass me in my every day life. I don’t even know what the last mortifying thing I did was it’s been so long.

Oh, maybe the Welcome to Moe’s thing…but that was a year ago.

6. Have you ever peed in the woods?
Tons of times! I would love nothing more than to go backpacking again. I miss that part of my life right now. And I live with three boys, so there is a lot of outdoor peeing going on in this house…even when the house is within steps of the urinating person.

7. Do you speak any other languages?
I took about 4.5 years of French between high school and college. I can listen well enough and read it well enough to guess what’s being said, but have a hard time remembering how to say much myself. I can say “I love you” in Greek and wish that I spoke more Greek. That’s on my to-do list for when the kids get bigger.

8. If you could only drink one beverage (besides water) for the rest of your life, what would it be?
That’s a hard one….I’m going to have to say Mt. Dew just because it’s the only thing I’ve ever found to stop a migraine in its tracks for me. I wish I could choose something healthier like a smoothie or red wine (I love both), but….yep….Mt. Dew. And if I had my choice, it’d be the Throwback version with the real sugar.

9. What size is your bed?
King…because my husband can’t be touched while he sleeps and the two boys end up in our bed at least once a week. That means that the three of us are sequestered to one side of the bed and King is about the only size we can fit in without touching my husband and/or falling out. I don’t know what we’ll do as the boys get bigger?!

10. Have you ever had or would you ever have plastic surgery?
I have not yet had plastic surgery and I’m kind of up in the air about whether I would or not. I wanted breast reduction surgery a long time ago in my last marriage, but since I had kids and breast fed them, my feelings have somewhat changed. I also watched a documentary once about a personal trainer who had liposuction to keep up appearances and that’s just not me. However, if there were a real reason to have it (say my face was ripped off), I’m all for it. I am also a proponent of getting rid of excess skin that causes health problems when someone loses weight. The choice has to be right and the decision made with good intentions and the understanding that plastic surgery doesn’t change who you are nor magically get rid of all of your problems.

Okay, there it is, ten more random things about me. Thanks Amanda for hosting!

What have you done with your Easter candy?

Mine is still sitting on the counter…

6 thoughts on “TOLT: Who Am I?

  1. My first husband was in the Air Force, which was why I moved to California, Texas, and Colorado. The rest were moves for work and school. I can't wait to move again when my kids are both ready for school. I like the idea of a new place to move your stuff around and make it all feel new! πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. I love surveys like this!! I speak Spanish fluently (minored in it in college!) I can also speak a bit of German, Swedish and Danish. When I visit a new country, I try to learn a bit of their language and those are the ones I currently am studying! Duolingo is the best tool πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Welcome Gretchen and thanks for stopping by!My great grandmother was Danish and it would have been lovely if she could have taught me her language. We have cousins from Denmark that come and visit from time to time. I think it's always easier to learn from people who actually speak the language every day. I hope to study Greek because we would love to take our children there some day when they are older. Enjoy your travels and thanks for the tip!

    Like

  4. Anonymous

    Have you ever stollen a street sign?Yes, along with other random ass signs and a shopping cart, which we posted/deposited in the front yard of a high school friend in the middle of the night. He was pretty pissed, understandably, and made us remove all the signs. But he kept the shopping cart and would ride it down the street to speed bumps with other guy friends. Win some and lose some. Also, stole a static cling Taco Bell store hours sign in high school and put it on my bedroom window. I was stupid high schooler.

    Like

Comments are closed.