TOLT: Favorite reads this month

April is halfway over and I can’t even wrap my head around it. But, as this is a nice open space to talk about the random list of things that doesn’t always fit in everywhere else, here we go…..

Things I’ve loved reading this month. That’s our topic for today. Talk amongst yourselves….Hahaha! I crack me up!

1. Favorite Book by a Woman – Yes Please by Amy Poehler
I have to admit that I was not a huge Amy Poehler fan before I read this book. I read it because I liked the Tina Fey book that I read and she raved about her friend so much in that book that I chose to read Amy’s book. It turns out that I love Amy Poehler so much more than I thought I did and I recommend this book to anyone who has 5 minutes to fall head first into it laughing all the way! The ending made me sad to finish the book and happy at feeling like I just made a new best friend, but not in a weird stalkerish way. I did, however, start watching Parks and Recreation again…..which I had wrongly abandoned mid second season. I find myself doing that with shows from time to time and then I come back and find that I love them.

2. Favorite Book by a Man – Neil Patrick Harris Choose Your Own Autobiography by Neil Patrick Harris

I’m more than a little behind in reviewing this one as promised….so, let’s cut to the chase. I loved this book because I love it when people write in a style that feels like they are talking to you. I hate to have to read and not feel like I’m part of the story. This is why I avoid the boring type of text books that are out there. History used to be my least favorite subject, but after reading some books by Gail Collins and a few other great writers I’m good to go. But, I digress….NPH takes you on a truly magical adventure of your choosing through his life. He’s very real and sincere in his writing style and I enjoyed every bit of it….even when I accidentally killed “him/myself” a few times. The only problem I had with this book was that I felt like if I followed the format and skipped around that I ended up missing some of the actual stories in the book and therefore had to go back and read it through again to see what I’d missed. Maybe that’s just some of that “fear of missing out” that everyone’s been talking about lately? PS-Did you know that there’s a Neil Harris out there who obviously didn’t make it as big as NPH? All the secrets will be revealed…..

3. Favorite Children’s Book – The Caboose Who Got Loose by Bill Peet

I remember reading lots of Bill Peet books when I was growing up and over the years have checked out a few for Ike. None of them have stuck the way that Katy Caboose did with both of my boys. Eli was so enthralled with the story that he actually sat through the whole thing. He started “reading” it on his own by pointing to the most important part of the story on each page’s picture and saying whichever word he needed to tell me the story. We read that book nonstop and every day for the entire 3 weeks we were allowed to keep it. Imagine their surprise when they saw it at the Railroad Museum downtown for sale! This one will be ending up on someone’s birthday list or a just because purchase. Anything that keeps boys interested in reading is a plus for me. And I especially identify with Katy….she just wants to be in some wide open spaces to enjoy the view.

4. Favorite Magazine/Journal – IDEA Fitness Journal for ACE Certified Professionals

Sometime this weekend I am going to get around to finishing this great post I’m writing about concurrent training and how it’s changing my look on exercise prescription for different clients….and maybe even myself. If you want quality information from the fitness community, I highly suggest subscribing to this magazine if you can. I believe that there are two different editions, one for IDEA Fit and one for ACE professionals and as I am certified through ACE, I get the latter of the two. Either way, I look forward to reading it each month and going through with my pen and highlighter to write myself notes of things I’d like to remember; to try; and to write about here for you. I’m sorry that I can’t ever share the whole article for free with you, but I try to summarize at least.

5. Thing I’m looking most forward to reading soon – Teach Your Child to Read in 100 Easy Lessons by Siegfried Engelmann

Yeah, I promise I’m not one of those moms who forces her children to learn all day long. We love to read at our house and often I find myself saying, ONLY ONE MORE BOOK! But something I have noticed of late is that my 4 year old wants to know how to spell more words and read more. So, I found this book at our library and I’ve been waiting for it’s arrival. It must be popular because last time I checked it was due back March 18th and I was next in line. I just got the call this week that it’s waiting for me, so we will be getting it today at the library. If it doesn’t work for us, no biggie, we’ll try another way. I believe every kid learns in their own way and at their own time, but we’ve got more than 20 minutes a day that we could always fill with more reading if Ike wants to learn how.

6. Favorite Blog Post from April –
This was the hardest decision ever to make! My mom heart wanted to go with one of these from MommyShorts:
What Your Child’s After School Activities Say About You
37 Photos that Prove Little Kids SUCK at Hide and Seek
Mazzy and Harlow Sing their Hearts Out, Every Night

While the feminist inside of me wanted to go with this one from Fit is a Feminist Issue:
Whatever’s Comfortable: What would a version of this ad look like with a woman?

Ultimately I have to choose this one from The Bloggess just because she makes me laugh:
Also, that fucker ate all the hot pockets.

7. The Read I’m Picking Back Up – Meditations from the Mat by Rolf Gates

I’ve been away from this one for far too long and somethings this past week have made me want to jump right back in. Expect another post about that one soon too.

So, that’s all for today, Thanks for Stopping By and Thank You Amanda for hosting!

What are you reading these days?
 
*UPDATE* Yesterday’s Letter to Exercise was answered….I went for the run around 5:30pm and it was……

Long, Slow, and Necessary.

4 thoughts on “TOLT: Favorite reads this month

  1. I've heard good things about the Amy Poehler book! Right now I'm just finishing off What Alice Forgot. Before that it was The Husband's Secret, and then next I think I'll move on to Big Little Lies. What can I say? When I find an author I like, I kind of binge read all their books lol.

    Like

  2. I'm the same way. I go through authors or genres at a time. But, as I have stopped buying books, I am somewhat limited by what is available at the library and when it's my turn to get a book.

    Like

Comments are closed.