Double Yellow Line

My recent overuse injury has been causing me some problems in the area of my piriformis muscle, IT band, and knee. I’m also dealing with a bit of a pulled hamstring on the same leg. So, I’ve chosen to add a little more biking to the mix until I can get a good new pair of running shoes so that I don’t actually injure myself. The biking is also a chance to save some money on gas and do a good deed for the environment.

As you can see, this was a leisurely ride and not one for major cardio benefits.

Today we rode to the park for Ike’s Little Explorer’s Program on Baby Animals. Then, we rode back. The thing I love about riding with the two of them is that it means we go further outdoors than we do when we walk or run and I’m still getting some exercise. They get to see new things and ask lots of questions about them. A few Sundays ago we saw a baby turtle crossing the bike path. It means that we get to do more in less time and it also says to my kids that my exercise is not above time with them….I can have both!

What do I not love about riding with the two of them? Inconsiderate vehicles. People, I don’t know where you come from, but in Iowa a double yellow line means DO NOT PASS! (North Carolinians don’t observe this same courtesy.) I don’t care that I was only going about 10mph, but I had precious cargo behind me and did not deserve the fear of becoming a sideswiped bug on the road because you felt the need to get to the stop light minutes before me. And then what happened? I rode up next to you to wait at THE EXACT SAME LIGHT!

Also, there is one busy road I have to cross that doesn’t have a great traffic light system and I have to wait for long periods of time with my left leg (shorter of the two) stretched out to it’s maximum tippy toe reach for far too long. I can’t ever risk just dismounting the bike because the light could change at any moment or just leave me hanging there for about 5 minutes. You never can tell.

My ride today helped me to reach my 60 mile goal for the month of April. I have two more yoga classes to teach for today and then 5 other fitness classes between Wednesday and Thursday. Other than also fitting in a HIIT workout on Thursday, I’m taking the rest of the month off to rest my body. Rest is important and so is following the rules of the road.

Here are two other bike related posts you should read:
Friday Fast Tips: Signaling on the Bike
Shed the Monster

Have you been out on your bike yet this spring?
What gets you excited about biking?
What do you fear/loathe about it?
Do you know the rules of the road?
How are you doing on your April goals?
2 thoughts on “Double Yellow Line

  1. I really don't like when I type out my comment and put the "comment as" feature to Google account and then go to post my comment and realize I wasn't signed into my Google account and there goes my very long comment! Haha, so I had a very long rant about rules for the road but I will just say that everyone everywhere has forgotten the rules of the road even back here in Iowa

    Like

Comments are closed.