The New Nanny and Other Changes in August

I have so much to tell you all about, but I’m running out of time before we move over to the new site. I can’t believe August is half over, but here’s what’s been going down so far this month! Thanks Amanda for another

1. Another trip for NETA! I stayed in state this month and traveled to the Yadkinville YMCA on the other side of the state. The workshop was wonderful and hosted by a really great staff and very entertaining group of future fitness professionals! Thanks again to Missy and Cirilo (I got your name right this time) and the rest of the gang there for hosting! You can check out more about the workshops that I do (here, here, here, and many other places on this blog).

2. Moving Up the Ranks….Did I mention that I’ve moved up into a Lead Timer position with RTE? If you hadn’t caught on about them lately, I work for this wonderful company that times races all over NC. My boss James and I go way back to my graduate school internship and he has recently promoted me to handle some of my own races. My first race was the Temple Builder’s 5K and it was a small race with fantastic people hosting the event. My sister is now my Assistant Timer and it’s fun to be able to see her more often and work with her. You can find me at some races in the future either assisting James or running the show for the day!

3. PRE-SCHOOL – Oh yeah, Ike had his first day of school already. I can’t even tell you what that was like because he just walked right in like it was no big deal and then came back out at the end of the day and said, “I LOVE SCHOOL!” Eli, on the other hand, is having a little of a depressive problem with being away from his big brother twice a week. We will see how that goes in the future, but I’m trying to come up with new things to do with just him to make him feel special. For instance, Tuesday we went to the beach so I could FINALLY take his 2yo photos. Yes, I know his birthday was almost 3 months ago, but he’s still 2!

After pictures we were headed away from the beach and this woman’s poodle poo’d on the beach next to the boardwalk. Eliot was fascinated with what was going to happen to the poo and I kept reassuring him that she was coming back to pick it up. When she did come back he was watching her and she said, “Do you want to get it?” I thought she was being funny at this point, but his response was, of course, “No.” To which she replied, “Then don’t worry about what I’ve got to do.”

COME ON LADY! He’s 2!

I’m glad I continued to walk away, but she really ticked me off! Instead we went to one of Eliot’s favorite breakfast places (no judgement here….remember….good for you) for a special shared treat: Wake N Bake. It was on the way to the rest of our errands. We shared the Loopy Morning, his favorite. He only likes to pick the fruit loops off the top because he never gets cereal like that at home and it’s a novelty item.

4. The New Nanny….I know you’ve all scrolled right down to here to find out what the heck I’m talking about. I’m a stay at home mom….they don’t have nannies! Well, this one does now. Over the summer we have employed two different friends to watch the kids while I taught yoga in the morning and during various other situations that are more regular than just a babysitter. However, as fall was approaching, neither of them was really equipped (mostly due to scheduling and/or vehicles) to handle our Tuesday mornings. Starting next Tuesday I will be teaching in the mornings for the city, followed immediately by 4 hours at CFCC. During that time someone has to be in charge of the kids and get Ike to school. I will be home in time to get him from school.

So, we ventured into our first time finding someone other than a friend or family member to watch our boys. This was a nerve racking experience for me and I am happy to say that we all came through like champs. I used Craigslist (did not hire anyone on there), Care.com (also did not hire anyone from there), word of mouth through friends and family, and posted jobs to the community college and university’s student job boards. We had a variety of applicants and settled on one girl that the whole family loved, had amazing references, and who will be here for awhile. We don’t want to go through this again any time soon.

I will keep you updated as to how it all goes, but so far we’ve enjoyed getting to know her and the kids have warmed up to her quite easily. Fingers crossed!

5. This is my final note for today’s post, but expect another one soon. TRAINING Woes….If you’ve followed me on MapMyRun you’ve noticed that I haven’t done jack this summer! Why? Because it’s been too hot and humid here for normal training. I haven’t wanted to hurt myself or make myself sick. Although Monday I went for a run and had to do a funny walk home because the heat got to me and I thought I was going to be sick all over myself and the kids! I’ve written about training in the heat before and I just don’t recommend doing it! Instead I’ve spent more time with yoga, Pilates, and other resistance training. I’ve done a few extra HIIT workouts and used the cardio machines when I could be indoors at such a facility. I feel my training has really suffered, but I’ve not just stopped doing it. I’m also remembering to just remain active throughout the summer so that I don’t ever feel like I’m “off” my training.

My next post will be all about the new site and the changes coming for the blog. They aren’t drastic, just more personal and focused on why I started this in the first place. You’ll also get a preview of what the fall has to offer! Until then….

Where have you traveled this summer?
Anything new at work?
Are you ready for your kids to go back to school?
Was that lady a jerk or was it just me?
Thoughts on a nanny?
Did you run all summer or workout indoors?

 

