Living My Yoga Life

Hello All and Welcome to the New Site!

 

I apologize first and foremost as it is very messy! I will be changing and cleaning up a lot of stuff over the next few months. I hope to have all of the bugs worked out of the new site by the end of 2015 so as to start clean in 2016. Please bear with me during this time.

So, this is my first post on the new site and the reason it’s coming on the 6th day since I “moved” here is because life has happened. And it will always happen. I want to tell you about all of the amazing things that I have going on here, but this post should not be that long. So, instead I want to tell you about the new site a little more and why you should stick around and come around more often.

This site will be far more about how I am living my yoga life. What does that mean? Well, over the last year and a half of blogging I have spent more and more time thinking about how learning yoga and researching more about yoga has impacted the way that I live. I am first and foremost a fitness person, but yoga has changed the way that I approach life in all aspects….including fitness. I chose to move to my own site because I am a serious fitness professional and I wanted a place to direct those I teach to learn more about fitness and health, wellness and yoga. I wanted a place to write about how these things are an integral part of my every day life.

Each Tuesday I spend about 7 hours a day teaching yoga and Pilates. This past week in the classes at CFCC I began teaching about the different paths to enlightenment….that is the ultimate goal of all yoga practice. The path of knowledge is known as Jnana Yoga and is most often taken by studying of the scriptures of yoga practice. However, the yoga of thousands of years ago doesn’t necessarily apply to my life today. For one thing, I’m not a man living in India; and for another, I came from a postural practice first. However, I do love to study and learn about yoga and I do this mostly through reading all the books I can get my hands on.

Interestingly enough, a few weeks ago I checked out a book from the library entitled Do Your OM Thing by Rebecca Pacheco. I had failed to open this book for the entire three weeks that I had it checked out and then I moved my site with all of my intentions of living this new yoga life in my blog. I renewed the book, opened it up, and kicked myself a few times. Guess what her book is about? Living yoga in a modern society. So, needless to say, I am loving this book! Pacheco’s book provides suggested moments to “Do Your

OM Thing” and they have been helpful in defining my own yoga life further as well as giving me ideas for discussion questions for my classes to help them live their yoga more meaningfully. I hope to share with you some of these ideas as I write about my own experience. I have not yet checked out her blog, but you can find out more about Pacheco at OmGal.com.

The thing I am focusing on this week in regards to living my yoga is the very first Yamas of which I have discussed before: Ahimsa or Non-Harming. The first thing I need to do for myself (and for this blog) is to take care of myself. I need to make sure that I am not harming myself or others by over-scheduling myself and my family; by over-committing to others when I don’t have enough to give; and by not over-practicing the physical yoga as I get further into this semester. I encourage you to take a moment to think about what the word “Yoga” evokes in your mind when you think it or say it. Are you interested in living a more yoga life? Do you know what all that entails?

california trip 1
October 2008, My trip to LA as part of my new life

Join me and let’s take that next deep breath together!

