I got knocked down…..

My last post was over a month ago. In the last six weeks I have suffered two bouts of sickness and a little bit of a breakdown. I somewhat anticipated this as I knew that I was over scheduled and that I wasn’t dealing with it well. So, on this Think Out Loud Thursday, I’m jumping feet first back into the game and GETTING BACK UP AGAIN! So, instead of lingering in the past, here’s my look ahead to the rest of 2015!

TOP THINGS TO LOOK FORWARD TO IN 2015

1.Halloween!

Our most recent bonfire from chili cookout night. My sister’s boyfriend and my brother in law were trying to burn down our new patio shelter with this one.

My kiddos are psyched for Halloween this year and probably mostly for the candy, but I don’t care. They both came up with their own ideas for costumes: Ike will be a bat…not Batman…he doesn’t like superheros. Eli wants to be a pirate like Mickey Mouse is dressed as on a window decal in his room. On top of the adorable little monsters I will have at my house, we are also going to be camping out in our backyard with our friends, having a bonfire, and doing S’mores. What could make for a better Halloween than that? Well, I get to work a race that morning with my new friend Gina for RTE. If you’re near Havelock, come and join us for the run!

 

 

2.Battleship 5K

The inMotion walking group at New Balance is coming to an end soon. It will be nice to have those nights back to my family, but I will miss the ladies that I’ve been training. Our big event that we’ve been working toward is the Battleship 5K and I’m looking forward to seeing how well they do that early Sunday morning. Come out and walk with us!

3.Mother/Child Day

Ike’s preschool does a special day for the moms and the kids one Thursday afternoon. It’s coming up soon and I cannot wait! School has always been a favorite of mine….so much so that I still hope someday to go back and get my PhD. But that’s not the point. The point is that he enjoys school so much and this will be a day that he and I can celebrate that together!

4.NETA Travel

I haven’t been out to a workshop in awhile and I’m starting to miss it. I have a workshop each of the next two months lined up and one with travel actually booked. Plus, I get to teach something that I’ve never taught before! I will miss the boys and my hubby while I’m away (I always do), but I always miss presenting when I’m not doing it. I have taken a backseat on writing for the time being, so getting out and working for NETA again is something I’m really looking forward to!

5.Fall Races

I have at least one more race I’m working for RTE this fall. Working the races has kept me motivated to keep running myself. I’ve been off for awhile now due to illness, but the thought that others are out there pushing through as the temps drop and the rain falls makes me want to do it even more. I still have to tell you all about my new running shoes and how amazing they are! They even kept me from hurting through an entire day of walking at the NC Zoo!

6.Thanksgiving

I’m going home for Thanksgiving again this year! Be sure to check in with me that week as

Can’t wait to see this sign!

I’m traveling with the boys….solo! It will be our first cross country trek alone and we’re driving the whole way. I miss my mom, my brothers, my nephews, my aunts and uncles, and especially my two grandmothers. It’s a blessing that I still have them and that the boys have two great grandmothers still in their lives. I wish we could spend more time with them, but living far away we really treasure the time we do get with them!

7.Christmas

This year we have Ike’s first Christmas Concert! If that’s not enough to look forward to, we’ve also get to host Christmas at our house for a second year in a row. I can’t wait to see what our tree looks like and the meal we come up with and the way the boys look when they awake to see what Santa has brought them! Most of all I am looking forward to having family over and close to celebrate this special time of year. Christmas means a lot of different things to a lot of different people. For me, it’s more so a reflection than Thanksgiving because it’s the end of the year. It’s a time to look back and be joyous for all you’ve made it through and all you have to love and look forward to in the future.

My blog has changed a lot over the last two years and will continue to do so, I’m sure, as I continue to write. This year I am trying to see myself as stronger and I think that the fact that I chose to write a list of things I’m looking forward to means that I have a mindset that is more strongly rooted in the positive. My yoga has been an integral part of my development this year. I hope to write more to you in the near future about what my students have taught me this semester and the amazing way that yoga has impacted each of their lives…..there may even be a few guest bloggers.

Please keep reading as I hope to continue to share with you this yoga life.

What are you looking forward to in 2015?

3 thoughts on “I got knocked down…..

  1. Pingback: Currently February 2017 – one girl breathing

Leave a Reply

