Robbed into Reality

Happy New Year’s Eve! And Thanks to Amanda for one last TOLT of 2015!

This is my last post of 2015 and I had so many other things I wanted to write this year, but I just didn’t get around to it, so I’m just going to let them go for now. Instead, I wanted to send out one more good post about yoga life into the universe for this year and hope that it will bring me good fortune in the year to come. So, please take a minute, and sit right there, while I tell you the story of how I got robbed and was okay with it.

Yes, you read that right….I was robbed on Monday…..sort of. Here’s how it went down. My cousin was in town and didn’t have a car. She is Godmother to my oldest and we don’t get to see her as often as we like as she lives 4 hours away and is a teacher. She’s also from a large family that lives all over the East Coast, so she’s always on the go to see someone. Her dad still lives near us and when she’s home, we always seem to be away. So, this was an exceptional opportunity for us to get together and just do nothing but hang out. The plan was to run some errands, go to the park, have lunch, etc, etc, etc. On my way out the door to pick her up I grabbed a $20 bill that one of my yoga participants had given me in a Christmas card. I needed to mail some things at the post office and thought that I might use the money to treat the kids to lunch out….something they almost never get to do. Like a dummy, I stuck it in my back pocket because I need a new purse and mine is so awkward that I hate sticking money in it or trying to access my wallet while juggling kids.

We were off! Picked up Lucy and headed to Target to buy, of all things, baby lotion. Both the boys have sensitive skin and occasionally suffer from eczema so we’ve been using this new baby wash and lotion on them and it works wonderfully, lathers well, and smells delightful. We always get toiletries for Christmas from my in-laws, but somehow they read the list wrong and only bought baby wash and no lotion. So, we decided that was a great place to start the day. We also browsed through the Christmas items on sale. Does anyone else buy their Christmas stationary and gift wrap the year before? I scored 720sq ft of wrapping paper for $20 the day after Christmas! Lucy found some bread pans for next year while we were there and then it was time to exit for the park. I kept checking that my money was in my back pocket and I was good to go!

We got to the park and I put my phone in my back pocket and my keys in another because I didn’t want to tote around the monster of a purse on the playground. This particular park has had a recent makeover and has really new and fun equipment for the kids….including a tire swing!20151228_113501 That was always my favorite growing up and the boys have enjoyed me spinning them like crazy in the way that always ruined my fake Keds as a kid. In order to ride the tire swing I had to take my phone and keys out of my pocket and set them down. My cousin was there to watch and I checked the $20…..still there. After the tire swing and other running around, we decided to go and see the turtles and look to see if any alligators were up near the bridge…..$20 still there. We walked 10 feet from the playground and the boys found a tree they had to climb.

Out came the phone to take a photo, hand went back to feel for the $20 as soon as the pic was taken, NOT THERE! As I turn around to look for it a man races past us in a very fast walk. I start shouting about my money missing and start frantically looking for it….he takes off faster and heads for the rest room. We look all over the playground, other parents are looking, and no one see it. I see the man come out of the rest room and I chase him down, here’s how the conversation went.

“Hey you! I just dropped my $20 bill when you walked by and now it is missing, did you happen to pick it up?”

“What? No, I didn’t see any money.”

“Are you sure? That was Christmas money and I was going to use it to feed my kids lunch today. It was in my pocket and now it’s gone and you’re the only one who passed us when I dropped it.”

“I don’t know what you’re talking about. I don’t have any money.”

“Okay……it’s just that it was my Christmas money and now I can’t take my kids out for lunch and you’re really the only one who was around when I dropped it and I just wanted to be sure that you didn’t accidentally pick it up.”

Then he turned and ran away. Did I mention that, while really nicely renovated, this park has a particularly large homeless population? Yeah….he took my money. Look, I don’t like to judge or assume, but I don’t know how else I could’ve lost that $20 in 10 feet without someone else picking it up. I was upset and mad all at the same time. I wanted to scream at the man and accuse him and make him turn his pockets out in front of me. There were many times we’ve been at that park in the past and seen police there, but today, none to call over to the situation. I didn’t know what to do, so I walked away and sadly/madly vented to anyone who would hear about it……for an entire day.

Then, I woke up Wednesday morning and said to myself, let it go. He probably needed it more than you did. There was food at your house for your kids to eat. There was a house for them to go home to.

This is not the only thing I need to let go of…..but it’s something I’m leaving behind in 2015.

How about you?

Leave a Reply

