Responsibility and Forgiveness

We all make mistakes in life….and I’ve made my fair share. In fact, this morning I am going to court for my first ever speeding ticket. I made it 35 years, 1 month, and 4 days until I received my first speeding ticket. It was a mistake. I was driving in the early morning to work and let the passing of a truck lure me into thinking that I was out of the slow zone on a highway and back up to speed. I clicked on the cruise control and then the lights came on.

Why me and not the truck? It doesn’t matter why. It does matter that I broke the law. Some people would say that this a minor thing, everyone speeds, etc, etc, etc. However, in the grand scheme of things, it’s not that minor. My ticket is for $218 (including court costs). That’s half of a month’s pay at one job and a full month’s pay at another. That’s almost the whole amount I made on the job I was driving to that day. It’s half of a workshop or 9 hours of curriculum writing. The money is a big thing for me in one aspect, but it’s something more than that financial burden.

It’s the fact that I always consider myself to be somewhat of a straight arrow. I always try to do the right thing. This is something I learned from my grandfather; who was the type of man that would return the extra money when a cashier counted it out wrong instead of just considering himself lucky. I try to follow the rules and to be a good citizen. If I am to be true to this, I should go into court today and pay my fine and accept my punishment. I should stand up and say “Guilty as Charged!”

I’m torn today as to what to do…..I would like to ask for a Prayer for Judgement and prove to the court that I will not be back in the next 3 years….or ever again….and sweep this whole thing under the rug. I would love to walk away without penalty other than that of my conscience. I am taking my kids to court with me today because I don’t have anyone else to watch them and because I want them to see that court is not the place they ever want to be….even for a “minor offense” like speeding.

Day Five: Not just this year, but forever, I want to take responsibility for my mistakes, but also be forgiven for them.

What’s the worst thing you’ve ever done?

Did you own up to it?

Were you forgiven?

One thought on “Responsibility and Forgiveness

  1. Pingback: Most and Least of 2016 – A Brief Look Backward – one girl breathing

Leave a Reply

