My love of the scale

I had a doctor’s appointment today and they weighed me. I know a lot of women who are against knowing how much they weigh and I even advocate that it is just a number. But….I secretly love hopping on the scale. Why? It’s not because I still weigh 118lbs like I did when I graduated high school. It’s not because I’ve lost every last ounce of “baby weight” or “holiday weight”, it’s because I can choose what to do with that number and not let it control me.

I don’t own a scale at home, so whenever I am near one, I like to hop on and “check in”. I have no way of knowing if that scale is well balanced or how much my clothes and shoes I’m wearing add. I actually don’t care. For me, it’s just an idea of what’s going on with my body. I take that info and carefully, but reasonably, consider what I’ve been doing recently that has caused that particular number to appear.

For instance, today my number was 142lbs. I had my shoes, clothes, and a jacket on. My “usual weight” is somewhere around 134lbs. Wow! 8lbs! Yes, 8lbs is a lot of weight, especially if you break it down to say that 8lbs is 1/17 of my total body weight at 142lbs. It makes up a greater percentage if I were 134lbs. But, what did that number tell me? Anything I didn’t already know? No.

I know that I took a lot of time off from my usual cardio work (aka running) this fall. This is what burns the majority of my “extra calories” each week and pretty much keeps my weight in check. On top of that, I take a pretty simple approach to the holidays….It’s any other day; it’s any other party.

What does that mean? Well, we encounter parties all throughout the year. There are birthday parties and office parties and girls’ night out and friends visiting from out of town and a multitude of other reasons that we give ourselves to “cheat” from the way we usually eat. So, instead of beating myself up over it or restricting myself leading up to the big event or avoiding the enjoyment of the holiday food, I just treat it like I would any other party. I eat (although mindfully enjoying the food) and I drink.

During December we had more food and ate more often and I sampled more sweets than the other 11 months of the year, but not more or less than I would have if we partied that often in any other month. I drank more wine and other drinks. I enjoyed far more hot chocolate and juice and egg nog. We ate and sat and visited and enjoyed.

Do I regret it at all? No, because I love the scale for reflecting the bounty that I had this holiday season. I was well fed and celebrated. I look at that number and know what it means. Then I hop right off and go about my life. I taught yoga this morning before my appointment. I spent the rest of the day chasing kids and cleaning around my house. At 530am tomorrow I will be up and on my run again. I have been eating more sparingly because there is less around and I’m still just doing what feels right and tastes good. So, in the spirit of these 30 day posts….

Day Six: I resolve to continue my love affair with the scale and know that it is a reflection of the choices I have made. It is constantly fluctuating and I am the only one in control of what I do with that number. I choose to embrace it.

Have you ever been in love with your scale?

What do you do about holiday eating?

Is your holiday weight a happy reflection of the way you spent your time?

4 thoughts on “My love of the scale

  1. Pingback: Most and Least of 2016 – A Brief Look Backward – one girl breathing

  2. Pingback: TOLT – Who Is This Mythical Superwoman? – one girl breathing

  3. Pingback: Currently February 2017 – one girl breathing

  4. Pingback: TOLT – Why Numbers Matter Part 3 – one girl breathing

Leave a Reply

