What I Made Wednesday

I’ve seen a lot of What I Ate Wednesday posts before, but I thought we could do a little something different or the start of this year because my Day Twelve resolution is to cook more new stuff. Especially since I got a set of these for Christmas!

However, today’s recipe doesn’t use my new cookware. Instead it’s a baked snack for my kids from the Minimalist Baker Dana.

Chocolate Chip Banana Bread Bites20160112_121718

We subbed in some gluten free flour for part of the oatmeal because we were running low and applesauce for the olive oil. Also, we used some Crazy Richard’s Cream Peanut Butter instead of almond butter. You’ve got to go with what you have in house! My kids are loving them!

Finally, I have a little rant that I need to get off my chest….

I am over the term “healthy” by food bloggers!

Please stop labeling a recipe as healthy unless you are a registered dietitian and go on to explain why it is healthy and for whom it is healthy. There are a lot of people out there that NEED to follow a specific diet for health related reasons, the rest of us have a choice as to what type of food to put into our bodies. I have a real problem with someone telling me that I should never eat regular all purpose flour or butter or sugar. I enjoy using/trying out alternatives, but if all you do is create recipes for a living because you like to and your friends have told you you are good at it, then you are in no position to tell me what is healthy. Also, if you have to eat a certain way for health reasons, then I get it! I am allergic to mushrooms and my son to peaches. I find that eating meat when I travel messes with my digestive system. I have friends that have dairy issues and soy problems and nut allergies. There is no one “healthy”, so let’s get rid of the term all together.

It’s also a pet peeve of mine when people set resolutions to get healthier without defining what that really means. It’s a personal definition in my opinion and now that I’ve said my peace about it……if you see me post a recipe that has “healthy” in the title, know that I am not endorsing it for anything other than it’s taste. If you’d like to learn more about how I eat, then you can use the search term “mindful eating” to find more of my posts about that topic. I’m sure it will come up again.

With all that being said…..

Who are your favorite food bloggers?

What’s the best new thing you’ve made this year?

 

One thought on “What I Made Wednesday

  1. Pingback: Not Just Desserts – One Girl Breathing

Leave a Reply

