Get Wet!

A long time ago I was a swimmer and a triathlete. I know exactly why I don’t swim any more….it’s a cost and time factor. I don’t have a lot of extra money for fitness which is why I’ve gotten really good at running, working out at home, and yoga. But my heart still craves the pool.

In the water before my last triathlon, August 2009
In the water before my last triathlon, August 2009

Time is the number one excuse for not doing fitness in general, but for me it’s a logistic of time and cost rather than an actual time dilemma.

When am I able to go to the pool? When am I able to do a long ride? When am I able to run that far? Well, for right now I’ve taken back the time in the morning to run and exercise in a variety of ways. But the bike is still pulling a carrier with two boys who can only stand to sit in close proximity with helmets on for so long. I think our longest ride was 12 miles. Luckily at least one of them fell asleep during that time.

As for the pool…..I can’t afford a membership to a pool at the moment. I also don’t know what I’d do with the kids when I went to the pool. It’s not like strapping them into a bike trailer or pushing them around in a jogging stroller. It’s a pool! I can’t tow them in a raft or let them sit on the sidelines as I stroke up and down the lane. They are 5 and 2.5…too little for that. When I can afford a membership to a pool it will have to come with childcare or hours that my family is sleeping for me to devote to smelling like I’m covered in bleach.

If I’m truly looking at what will make me happier and healthier in life, getting back into the pool is on that list.

Day 18: Get back in the pool in 2016!

 

 

