The Vegan Baker

It’s time for another What I Made Wednesday and this time I’m asking for your help….PLEASE! First, please tell me that I’m not the only one who has ever been mind boggled by how hard it is to be a vegan?! Here’s what I learned this week:

  1. Vegans cannot eat honey….it’s bee food.
  2. Maple syrup might not be vegan because sometimes, with lower grades, they add animal fat to keep it from foaming. So you have to look for higher grades and Kosher certified.
  3. Cereal and other products with Vitamin D3 are not vegan because Vitamin D3 (Cholecalciferol) is made from lanolin that comes from sheep’s wool.
  4. Lots of chocolate is made with milk and milk fat….even some dark chocolate.

Why did I learn about being vegan this week? Well, because I was making my Trail Cookies for my yoga classes and the Mindful Eating exercise we do and one of my students is vegan. I wanted to accommodate, so I altered the recipe. So, here’s my new recipe….vegan, gluten free, and no peanuts for those specific allergies.

  • 4 c (2 1/2 after processing) Erewhon Crispy Brown Rice Cereal bought at Whole Foods
  • 3/4 t salt
  • 1 t cinnamon
  • 1 cup of homemade almond butter (see Amanda’s Recipe here at Running With Spoons)
  • 2 large smashed bananas (about 1 c)
  •  1/2 c or so of 365 Dark Chocolate Baking Chunks from Whole Foods
  • 1T flax seed
  1. Make the almond butter. Yum!20160210_185037
  2. Preheat oven to 325F and spray a baking sheet with olive oil or use a silicone mat or parchment paper.
  3. Place the cereal in a food processor and pulse until a fine powder. You can also do this with a food storage bag and rolling pin.
  4. Mix in the rest of the ingredients and adjust for taste/texture until you have a thick sticky mess. Now you can either eat the batter or move on to the next step.
  5. Scoop onto the baking sheet in about 2-3 tablespoon heaps and smash down. These cookies do not spread. Bake for 15-20 minutes to allow the edges to turn brown and a little crispy. Mostly these cookies come out moist and chewy.
  6. Let cool on the baking sheet and enjoy! This makes about 2 dozen-ish cookies.

So, second help I need from you this week…..am I the only one who has ever failed at making nut butter in the food processor? I roasted these beautiful almonds 20160209_113417only to have them take 1 hour and 40 minutes in my grandmother’s handed down food processor to turn to creamy butter. I thought it would NEVER happen! I seriously thought about giving up more than once. And previously I had attempted peanut butter (with raw nuts) and failed there by burning up the motor in my BIL’s old food processor. Maybe I didn’t wait long enough on that one? I saw smoke at about 20 minutes on that one.

Finally, I have been really uninspired for dinner menus of late. Can you please, please, please share your favorite family friendly dinner recipes with me?! I need them!

5 thoughts on “The Vegan Baker

    1. AL

      Thank you Emily….they are really tasty! My kiddos love them and they never last long at our house. I love learning new things about the way other people live. I’m sure there are many other rules to veganism that I am still unaware of!

      Like

    1. AL

      Definitely! I’m not sure I have that kind of food commitment in me. I do know that I could give up most meat, but cheese (dairy really), eggs, honey….those types of things are staples in my life right now.

      Like

  1. Pingback: Most and Least of 2016 – A Brief Look Backward – one girl breathing

Leave a Reply

