Fave Reads Friday #1: Sitting Still

I am zooming through my 2016 Book List and haven’t yet found time to write about a very short, but important book I read a couple of weeks ago. In fact, I’m already done with my next book, so expect another review next Friday too!

The book I’m speaking of this week is The art of stillness: adventures in going nowhere by Pico Iyer. This book was an incredibly interesting and quick read. I kept finding myself bookmarking page after page of things I wanted to discuss with my Yoga II class at CFCC. I read the whole book in one day!

What I loved about it:

This book was quick to read and reinforced (using anecdotes and statistical information) what I already know about taking time to turn inward. It’s a necessity in life! I also found one of my new favorite quotes in this book

“If ever I go looking for my heart’s desire again, I won’t look any further than my own backyard. Because if it isn’t there, I never really lost it to begin with.” ~ Dorothy, The Wizard of Oz

Yes Dorothy! Yes!

What I didn’t love about it:

So, I already understand mediation and how important quiet time to reflect is. I thought the book was going to go a little deeper than it did. It was nicely written and kept me engaged, but not something for me to really gain a whole lot out of as far as depth into my practice.

Who I recommend this book for:

Anyone who is curious about meditation, mindfulness, and just the overall journey of turning inward. I think it’d be a great supplement for my students and I pulled one whole section to read them (see p. 5-6, 61, and 66) and emphasize why we practice the way that we do. If you’re curious about that kind of journey to seek yourself, your truth, or really any kind of clarity and refreshment….pick this one up!

What did you read this week?

Have you been meditating?

What’s the best thing you’ve found in your backyard?

Leave a Reply

