Crockpot of Joy

20160224_173012
This squeeze is empty because we just couldn’t wait to take photos first!

I haven’t found a whole lot of new things to eat in the last few weeks, but I did dig this really yummy pouch that a student of mine shared with me. I mean, she gave me one, we weren’t eating out of the same pouch. But I did share it with my kids and they were equally thrilled by it and since she shared this one with us this week, I will now be purchasing some more for us to have around the house.

On this What I Made Wednesday (I meant to share this post on Wednesday, but it’s Saturday and warm, comforting food on a Saturday is just as great!) I wanted to share links to two recipes we have made in the last week that were crockpot recipes and which saved me a lot of time. I am finding out now why my mom lived for crockpot recipes when raising four kids! Sorry, no pics of these this week.

Slow Cooker Honey Garlic Chicken and Veggies by Damn Delicious

I really wish I’d taken some pics of this one. It was Damn Delicious and made our house smell soooooo good! I made this with four whole chicken quarters that I’d gotten previously. They were SMART Chicken and I’m not usually a dark meat person, but they turned out really nicely. I wish I’d taken the skin off so that the flavor sunk in a little more to the meat as I don’t personally eat the skin. I used fingerling potatoes that were all different colors. The kids weren’t sure about purple potatoes at first, but the flavors were all really good!

Crock Pot Lentil & Quinoa Tacos and Vegetarian Taco Salad (2 for 1!) by Running in a Skirt

I first made this recipe at home in Iowa for Thanksgiving. The boys ate most of their dinner that night and I could tell my mom wasn’t as impressed with it as I had hoped. I, on the other hand, was thrilled with how it turned out! I brought home the leftovers frozen and stored them until my Cookie Exchange. Then, I added a can of black beans and cooked it down to almost a dip. My friends and I called it the “poop dip” because that’s really what it looked like to a bunch of moms. The ladies loved it as well. Then came the real test….making it at home for the family. This time I made the full recipe and added two cans of black beans and the boys cleaned their plates! The hubby wasn’t as impressed, but he doesn’t really like the meatless meals…..to each their own. I am all about this recipe!

On this coming Wednesday I plan to share my recipe for a sweet potato pizza crust and tell you about a breakfast dish that I’m making from Running With Spoons.

Do you eat any squeeze snacks?

What’s your favorite crockpot recipe?

Meatless or meat all the time?

Leave a Reply

