Tone It Up Tuesday: Two Weeks of Tushy Toning

Almost two weeks ago I wrote about the workout that I’m adding to my running and yoga. This is something I’ve been meaning to do all year, but hadn’t quite settled into things. So, on Wednesday, Friday, last Monday, then on Wednesday and Saturday, after my runs I did 15 of each of the exercises listed. Why? Because I want my running to improve and I’m starting with the glutes.

What has happened in the last two weeks has been amazing!

First, I like to think that my body is pretty balanced thanks to all of the yoga I do and teaching makes me hyper aware of my body position/performance. However, that’s not the case. Last Monday morning I was doing single leg bridges and decided to try something that is out of the norm for me…..do my right leg down first. Why? Well, in all of my years of teaching group fitness classes I have learned that most people are right side dominant, so I tend to make it easier on my participants and lead with my left leg to mirror their movement and give them the benefit of performance. I thought that this was doing wonderful things for my balance and coordination to force myself left, but it has LEFT me lopsided. My left leg lifts and lowers in a glute bridge so much better than my right side.

Some of this is due to the fact that my left leg is shorter (from scoliosis) and bears the brunt of my body. Some of this is due to the hip dysplasia in my right leg (and resulting piriformis problems). But, some of it is my own fault of not taking turns of emphasis with right and left sides. My left has overcompensated and gotten stronger than it normally would have and is now causing my right side to be weaker. So, I’m now alternating which side leads.

Second, I can feel my glutes doing the work in the run and after. How? Awareness! It’s surprising when you start to think about what you’re actually doing in a movement like running (hip extension from the glutes, knee flexion from the hamstrings, hip flexion from the illiopsoas, and knee extension from the quads….not to mention the work of the gastroc, soleus, and anterior tib). Then I can see when my glutes aren’t doing the work they should be and how to push them into helping me get through a run. It’s also been fun to have that truly depleted and fatigued feeling in my glutes after the run + lifts.

Finally, the pure act of adding to my workout has invigorated my commitment to it. I had stopped getting up in the morning because I knew I could just squeeze in my runs here and there. Now, I need the extra time in the morning to also do the exercises, so I’m up and active like I was in December. My runs are getting more interesting as I consider how to vary my training. I’m still looking for some insights on your part, so please click over and answer the questions to my Runners’ Survey by adding a comment.

Jump over to my Map My Run page to check out my treadmill runs this last weekend in New York. Is it me or do treadmill runs make you hyper aware of your gait, arm position, leg movements etc? I kept doing butt kicks during my run to try and engage the glutes and combat calf pain and rising arms.

But for now, Two Weeks Tackled and……Going Glute Strong!

What’s your weakest area?

What’s the thing that always pumps up your routine?

Leave a Reply

