Currently May…..30 Days Updates

Happy May Day!

I am in Sanford, NC this weekend teaching NETA workshops at the Lee County Enrichment Center where they offer many different activities for seniors in the area. Yesterday I did the workshop on Senior Fitness Training and today I will be presenting Yoga Inc for PTs and GFIs to incorporate yoga into their training sessions and classes.

I have had the most beautiful stay at my hotel this weekend! This particular Comfort Suites has the best carpet20160429_234233 and was so welcoming when I came in late Friday night. Plus, look at the BUTTERFLY20160429_234247 at my door! If you know me at all, you know that I really associate with butterflies and always have. Something about the idea of transforming yourself and being free to travel the world, but still delicate has always been appealing to me. I was awakened by my alarm Saturday morning and the sun peeking through the curtains. I looked out later in the day, before my evening run, to find the trees behind my room. 20160430_161704But, kind of makes me wonder how many dead bodies are out there…..I don’t know why I think these things, but I just do!

Last night I treated myself to an almost 4 mile run around  a lake a few blocks from my hotel. One of the participants lives in the neighborhood and suggested the route. Thank goodness I had recently read Caitlin’s post about the Boston  Marathon and Heartbreak Hill, because I don’t think I would have made it through most of those hills without stealing her strength as motivation. I did have to walk for 2 minutes on the last hill because I was almost hit by a car at one point and it shook me and my burning calves. I needed the time to regroup and finish the run. I probably would have come closer to 9:00/miles if I hadn’t walked, but I’m not disappointed in the run. I would be so fit if I lived in Sanford and had the option to run these hills each day!

But on to the real reason for this now lengthy post….it’s MAY! And that means that it’s time for a few updates and some talk about what’s coming this month.

In April I presented my 12 Years of Yoga series and told you about how I have traveled so far on the yoga path of my life. This month I want to start refocusing on sharing the yoga journey for each of you. So, because I’m currently teaching a meditation course for CFCC ConEd, each Meditation Monday is going to be a progressive guide on “How to Meditate” and what the benefits of adding a regular meditation practice into your life truly are.

My running is back on track now and I’m ending my first 6 weeks of glute training, so I’m going to add more sets and also spend May focusing on some more CORE training. Expect some serious Tone It Up Tuesday posts with yoga poses that help strengthen the glutes and core.

I plant to write at last 3 times each week, so I’m going to guarantee at least one other post each week: Fave Reads Friday. I’m constantly reading and I’m about to finish (hopefully tonight) a book I’ve been working on for almost 3 weeks. I still have a stack of others to finish and it’s going to be a priority over the two weeks I’m not teaching at CFCC.

Finally, a few updates from my 30 Days Resolutions. I got my CPR renewed last month and I’m hoping to get Wellness Coach certified this month in order to renew my PT certification which is up this month. If not, I will be doing some other online CEC courses to finish up my last few credits this time around. I will still be working on other professional development opportunities including prepping a workshop for the Fall Inservice Training at CFCC. And hopefully by the end of June I will have some business cards to start handing out at workshops I attend.

And, did I mention I have picked a race for the fall? I decided on a 15k (9.3 miles) that is also an Oktoberfest run with a really cool finisher’s medal. I’ve already asked my friend Gina to complete it with me, so now I have added motivation not to back out. I may also ask another friend that does half-marathons if she’d like to join us. Stay tuned for confirmation of my registration and my full training plan.

Welcome to MAY!

What’s your plan for this month?

Any races on your horizon?

How was the end of your April?

One thought on “Currently May…..30 Days Updates

  1. Pingback: Currently July 2016 – one girl breathing

Leave a Reply

