Summer Squash

Last weekend my in-laws sent the boys home with a bag full of summer squash (yellow and zucchini). So, this past week I’ve been trying to figure out what to do with it…..other than give it all away. Here are two recipes that I made this week and loved in case you’re trying to figure out a nice dinner and dessert for the weekend that’s kind of summer-y.

Chicken and Rice Casserole

This one came from myrecipes.com and I made a few changes to make it easier on me. We had far more yellow squash than green, so I only used yellow in this recipe. I also doubled a lot of the recipe and used the chicken breast from an herb garlic rotisserie chicken that I bought at the grocery store. This made assembly much faster. I used long grain brown rice and sauteed the squash in homemade garlic butter to amp up the flavor. I added onion powder because I didn’t cook the chicken with onion and my kids hate onion chunks. What this needed was more rosemary and my husband suggested salt and pepper since I’d omitted both of those ingredients and used low-sodium chicken broth. I also used Parmesan cheese, but would prefer something a little bolder in the future. I’ll make it again for sure.

Double Chocolate Zucchini Brownies

This one comes from The Recipe Critic and the only change I made was using applesauce instead of oil….a change I always make. Her brownies came out darker and more dense than mine and I believe that’s due to the applesauce. Mine were more like a cake, but still wonderful and the kids ate them up like crazy…..including my niece who said that she’s never eaten zucchini and wasn’t sure about putting it in brownies. She even finished an entire two bean quesadilla in order to have one and that’s saying a lot for her! I’m sharing these with our neighbors as well because it makes a 9×13 pan and that’s too much deliciousness for us to have around the house at a time when I feel like eating nothing but sweets.

I’m always on the lookout for new things to do with summer squash….any ideas?

Leave a Reply

