Currently August 2016

I thought that for today I’d take it all the way back to my ambitious long list. Here’s an update, in a few words each, on what I’ve accomplished so far this year.

  1. See the world – Did I mention that I lost my glasses at one point? And I haven’t done much in the way of traveling of late.
  2. Follow through and finish what I start – I am still working on this list, but there are many tasks that still sit unfinished. Currently I’m working on a workshop that I started reading for in June.
  3. Face my fears – I think my biggest fear is that I am lost right now and I may be depressed, but I’m too afraid to find out for real. Especially after reading this book.
  4. Get some more education/professional development – I attended two trainings in June and am now able to teach a few more workshops, but I want to accomplish a little more this year.
  5. Accept responsibility for my mistakes, take ownership and ask for forgiveness when necessary – Man have I ever been trying to own up this year!
  6. Embrace my love of the scale – I’ve been tracking my weight from time to time and like knowing that it’s not in charge of me and I also don’t fear it.
  7. Compete – Did I mention that I’m doing a race in less than a month?! I scaled back, but still….it’s getting done!
  8. Reconnect – I have spent more time reaching out to friends and really trying to spend more time with the friends that I value. I was grateful to have my friend Sarrah come to town three times in the last two months!
  9. Prepare – My little notebook calendar has helped me to stay on track a lot better and we’ve had a few mishaps with Kindergarten (I forgot to label the date on the lunch this morning), but overall feel way more prepared than previously.
  10. Write more – I’m here…now…and I think this year has been my best so far as far as number of posts.
  11. Read – Did I mention I’ve almost completely finished my book list, plus some?
  12. Make new things to eat – This was new last week.

    breakfast cookie
    I used Crazy Richard’s chunky peanut butter instead of almond butter, some frozen blueberries we picked at Lewis Farms earlier this year, and a mix of applesauce and honey instead of coconut oil because I didn’t have any and I make my own blueberry applesauce that worked perfectly with this recipe.
  13. Ask “Why?” – My yoga is coming along more and more each semester. I need to get back to a daily practice, but that’s a 30 day challenge I’m giving myself soon.
  14. Bump up the mileage – Like I said earlier, I’ve scaled back on the runs, but today I went out after Kindergarten drop off instead of early morning and logged a few more miles. Still waiting for the humidity and heat to really die down for this one.
  15. jumpGet the photos under control – I’ve been trying to get into more pics for another goal I set earlier this month. I forgot to post this one….so I hope you enjoy. Have you ever been to a trampoline park? Ours has a ninja warrior type course in the back and I tried a ton of the obstacles and made a fool of myself. Thank goodness my kids are young!
  16. Go pro! – Stagnant here due to lack of funds to move forward. But, I did decide to stop hosting so that I could be real instead of just pro and poor.
  17. Rest – I was all about this when my knee got injured.
  18. Get wet! – Still no pool membership, but again….lack of funds is preventing a few things.
  19. Relish sweetness – My kids and I are having so much more fun these days.
  20. Treat myself to gear – Yep, a few things here and there, but the new running shoes are coming……
  21. Awareness – Gifts of Yoga to enjoy and cultivate – I can’t even begin to tell you how much this has been helping me lately!
  22. Strength – Gifts of Yoga to enjoy and cultivate – Not always in physical measures.
  23. Flexibility – Gifts of Yoga to enjoy and cultivate – Not always in physical measures.
  24. Balance – Gifts of Yoga to enjoy and cultivate – Working on balance of life as a whole.
  25. 3 better yoga poses – My yoga is slow going as I’ve devoted so much more time to running, but I’m being more conscious of my practice…..come back tomorrow for more info on that.
  26. Clean out the friendship fridge – I’m just not throwing effort where effort is undeserved.
  27. Fitness measures outside of running and yoga – This has been a hard one for me as I find that running and yoga are what fits best into my life right now. Although, I want a Kettlebell for my birthday.
  28. Just Say No! – I think this one has been a benefit and a negative of late. I’m saying no to more crap from other people, but I’ve also given myself the permission to stop on runs when I know I can push through. There’s a fine line between saying no to doing something because it’s truly too much and saying no because it’s easier….
  29. Be someone – Thank you to the followers who followed me over to the new site. 🙂 I’m grateful for each of you!
  30. Check in! – Here I am and I’d love to hear from you about  the following two things:

Have you long forgotten your resolutions?

What struggles are you facing in your fitness life today?

2 thoughts on “Currently August 2016

  1. Pingback: 30 Days of Yoga – one girl breathing

  2. Pingback: Most and Least of 2016 – A Brief Look Backward – one girl breathing

Leave a Reply

