Day 7 – Loving My Leg Day!

Today is my 7th straight day of Yoga! Don’t know what I’m talking about? Read here to find out:

30 Days of Yoga

Yesterday I spent some serious time in Wide Leg Forward Bend or Standing Straddle Fold. The pose has a million English names. In Sanskrit it’s Prasarita Padottanasana “prah-sar-ee-ta-pah-doe-than-ah-sa-na“. image-120While there I was contemplating a lot of things, but especially saying to myself….Don’t Judge. But mostly I was feeling my hamstrings and noticing that as I hold the pose for awhile I begin to get weak in the knees…..or rather weak in my holding of the knees. You’re supposed to be long and strong in the legs, but soft in the knees. It’s confusing to be almost fully extended in the knees, but not locked out and I often start to sag.

When I was done with my five minutes of thinking about the quote from yesterday and reminding myself not to judge myself or others, I immediately thought something positive about my legsand it reminded me of a post I read the other day:

How I Learned to Love My Thighs + Leg Day Roundup

And this sparked an idea for today’s post and practice. I love my legs and I always have….for the most part. I mean, I’m a girl, and I think we’ve all gone through the phase of thinking our thighs could be thinner etc. For me I’m a little sadder these days that my calves are not as tone and defined as they were when I wore a lot of heels and did a lot of cycling. However, I still love my legs! In fact, today they took me for a nice run pushing the stroller and didn’t slow down….that much.

So, I decided to spend a little time thinking about my Squat Form (see these two posts from NASM) and then some more time in a Warrior Series that I do from time to time. Here’s a short video I made for a friend of me doing the poses late one night, but they’re fast here.

Today I will go a little slower, with more intention, and enjoy my practice for 5 minutes or more. Today I appreciate my legs and all that they do for me!

What’s your favorite leg workout?

Leave a Reply

