Annual Public Service Announcement – Breast Cancer Awareness

Two years ago I decided to make a very short but sweet PSA about October being Breast Cancer Awareness Month while on a trip for NETA. Later that same year I visited a new doctor who mentioned something to me that I had heard a few times before over the years….I have rather lumpy breasts. I kind of brushed her off because she ended up being kind of crazy and charged me for an asthma appointment when I DO NOT HAVE ASTHMA! Can you say insurance fraud?

Last year I wrote a post about my breasts and linked to a whole lot of other times when I had mentioned them and bras and other things of importance in relation to these mammary glands we women wear so proudly on our chests. The ladies at Fit is a Feminist Issue write about them on the regular. But, there’s a little more to my story that I haven’t really shared here and an advertisement I heard on the radio sparked my post for today.

kisK.I.S. is a Wilmington based women’s athletic apparel brand that is still getting off the ground and they’re donating money from purchases this month to our local cancer center (where a Great Aunt of mine was treated not all that long ago before losing her battle with cancer). I plan on getting one of their shirts for myself because they’re good looking shirts and I feel the need to send a little good Karma out into the world these days.

My part in all of this is that in January I went back to see my midwife instead of the crazy doctor for my female check ups. I was again told that I had some serious lumps in my breasts for my age and for having had breastfed two children for the length that I did. My family’s history of female cancers and my own female health history didn’t help any and it was ultimately decided that I should have a mammogram…..at 35.

I’m not going to lie….I was totally freaked out by this despite my normally blase attitude toward health scares. I usually assume that what will happen will and I prepare for nothing good nor bad. It’s really out of your control at that point. But, this was different for me. I’m not sure if it was having my two children and that thought that there could be something seriously wrong that could take me away from them or what it was, but I was nervous to say the least.

I went for my mammogram and the tech was super wonderful and told me that I did everything so well. She said that I was easy to mold and I suggested that it was all of the adjusting you receive to your form in the fitness industry that had prepared me to be positioned in this exact moment in life. This made her smile and laugh. However, I had a feeling that something wasn’t quite right. A few days later I was called back for another mammogram…..they weren’t sure what they were seeing on one side.

A week after the first one I was back in for my second, but only for one side. And the final result was that I just have very dense breasts. One is a 3 and the other is a 4. It’s something that will need to be checked on each year for awhile, but nothing to lose sleep over at the moment. So, here I am, in the middle of October, asking you all to do two things for me:

  1. Talk to your health care professional about your risks and which form of screening is right for you. There’s talk right now about the inaccuracy of checking your breasts each month, but there’s also no real harm in doing so. Ask and you will know your risks and what to do for you.
  2. Go to K.I.S. ‘s website and get yourself a sweet new shirt this month and help out the Zimmerman Cancer Center and all the great work they do for people like my Great Aunt Marilyn and more! It may be me that’s receiving treatment there or one of your loved ones somewhere!

 Take your health seriously; it’s the yoga thing to do!

 

One thought on “Annual Public Service Announcement – Breast Cancer Awareness

  1. Pingback: Currently October 2016 – HAPPY HALLOWEEN! – one girl breathing

Leave a Reply

