Workout Wednesday #1 – Body Weight Basics for HIIT

So, I’m going to try and make this a weekly endeavor to share either a yoga series or some other workout with you. Try being the operative word here as some of these goals have fallen by the wayside in the past. This week I want to share a short video with you of the HIIT routine I am doing.

While I am a fitness professional with multiple degrees and certifications, this workout is unsolicited, unsponsored, and not intended as advice for you to use to diagnose your own injuries, treat them, nor rehab anything; nor is it an exercise prescription that will meet your personal needs, likes, and abilities. Please check in with your healthcare professional if you’re having health problems and before starting any new exercise routine.

I decided that I like a very short workout on Mondays to get my week started and not to set myself up for disaster. It’s something I can do in my upstairs, so no need to worry about the weather. It requires little or no equipment, depending upon how you choose to do the exercises. It takes less than 15 minutes to complete and works almost all major muscle groups. I’ve done it twice now and have decided that it will stick for awhile for sure. (I usually know after the first few times if it’s something I’ll keep up.)

Two years ago in April I tried to HIIT regularly for awhile and I enjoyed it, but something told me that I should do MORE and that didn’t workout too well. I had some great links to more about what HIIT training is in that post and I’ve talked about it a few other times in regards to other types of HIIT/Tabata/Interval training. For this go around I found a Tabata timer that I liked and then wrote out 8 different exercises I knew I could accomplish multiple times for 20 seconds each. I am able to complete 3 rounds right now in the allotted time I have each Monday and with how little my body has truly exercised over the last month or so.

After 3 takes and much editing….hope you enjoy!

Have you done HIIT/Tabata/Interval Training before?

What is your favorite short workout?

What do you do to start out the week?

4 thoughts on “Workout Wednesday #1 – Body Weight Basics for HIIT

  1. Pingback: Workout Wednesday #3 – Intermediate Yoga Flow – one girl breathing

  2. Pingback: Meditation Monday #28 – Muscles Gotta Eat – one girl breathing

  3. Pingback: Workout Wednesday #6 – Loving Your Exercises – one girl breathing

  4. Pingback: If; Then – one girl breathing

Leave a Reply

