My Yoga History – Guest Post

“It is only through proper and unselfish meditation that the student can finally enter the temple of the undistracted mind, and in silence and aloneness come to the realization of the One Ultimate Reality and the pace beyond understanding”

Yoga for Americans

Devi

It’s harder to meditate when we need it the most, specially if we feel unhappy. But why do we feel unhappy? Ones feels unhappy when trapped in a situation, when it is impossible to leave some things to get others. “It takes courage…”

My experience with breathing and meditation is getting better, and our class Yoga II is giving me the courage to the changes I’m making in my life. To be strong is key for nurturing my mind, soul and body, and to keep me going through the difficulties and tasks of life. But still now at my 58 years old, and knowing the importance of meditation, it has been impossible to sit 20 minutes at the same time every day, and just ….Meditate.

I confess that I have never been able to do so, but that doesn’t mean that I don’t meditate. I meditate in class, and sometimes when I get up in the mornings, but I also I meditate with activities like swimming, walking, praying, and even driving!

The asanas like the Warrior Pose are very nurturing, and revealing. When adopting the pose first I see like a movie of what I have achieved in life, and how long and difficult is the way ahead. Virabhadrasana is very powerful for women of all ages, but in my case when I raise my arms perpendicular to the floor and parallel to each other (Warrior One), I just get my strength back. Then, it comes Warrior Two: The arm behind represents the past, and the one in front, the future.

And I’m in the present, seeing how life is taking place, through my breathing. Then, I give thanks. I am very thankful of all my teachers, the ones that are making me understand that is only me for me. We come to this world alone, and we will leave alone, no matter how many people we have surrounding our deathbed.

So thinking in the future, I know I have to start to limit indulging. My body needs to be strong and straight, balanced, and my gaze firmly looking ahead. I’m fortunate because I can have a fresh start, even that I have to  live with a little of arthritis and my hip hurts. I have a beautiful family, I have travel thousands of miles, I’ve met interesting people, and I have had money to spent.

But with the “acceleration of the times” I don’t know what will happen to the human being. I have never lived in war, I was never experience sexual violence, so I’m really grateful. But I think that even if the war comes, if I practice my warrior and restorative poses, and meditate everyday in any way I can, I know I will know how to react.

I don’t want to stop achieving goals in my life, but if the way ahead is long and difficult, my breathing and the poses will support me. And when is my time to go, I won’t be afraid. Yoga and Faith go together in me, and I’m fortunate to live to cultivate them.

Namaste.

 

This was the first in the series of posts shared by my students on their yoga experience. I greatly appreciate this student’s willingness to share her journey and another great Thank You to Amanda for the forum to tell these stories.

One thought on “My Yoga History – Guest Post

  1. Reblogged this on Yndiana Montes and commented:
    “And I’m in the present, seeing how life is taking place, through my breathing. Then, I give thanks. I am very thankful of all my teachers, the ones that are making me understand that is only me for me. We come to this world alone, and we will leave alone, no matter how many people we have surrounding our deathbed.”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

